BJP wins all four seats in municipal corporation bypolls in Maharashtra

Mumbai: The BJP on Thursday won all the four municipal corporation by-elections in the state.

The by-elections for the four seats in Mumbai, Pune, Kolhapur and Nagpur civic bodies were held on Wednesday.

Representational image. AFP

Representational image. AFP

Of the four, one seat in Kolhapur Municipal Corporation was bagged by an outfit, which has a tie-up with the BJP at the local level.

The state election commission, in a statement, announced the results of the by-elections.

In Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation (BMC), the BJP narrowed its tally gap with Shiv Sena in the Mumbai civic body as its nominee on Thursday won the bypoll from Bhandup, beating the bickering ally's candidate.

BJP candidate Jagruti Patel defeated Shiv Sena's Minakshi Patil by polling 11,129 votes in ward number 116. The BJP snatched the seat from Congress.

In the by-election to Nagpur Municipal Corporation, BJP's Sandeep Gavai won from ward number 35-A.

In Pune Municipal Corporation, Himali Navnath Kamble of the BJP won the bypoll from from 21-A ward.

Ratnesh Shitolkar, who represented Tararani Aghadi Paksh, won the Kolhapur Municipal Corporation by-election from ward number 11. Tararani Aghadi is headed by former Congress MLC Mahadevrao Mahadik and is in alliance with the BJP.

Click here to follow LIVE updates

Updated Date: Oct 12, 2017 17:49 PM

Also See