BJP looks to open Kerala account, signs seat sharing agreement with BDJS

Thiruvananthapuram: The newly formed Bharat Dharma Jana Sena (BDJS) and BJP reached an agreement for seat sharing in the May 16 Kerala assembly elections under which the fledgling party will contest 37 of the 140 seats at stake.

Representational image. AFP

Representational image. AFP

Both parties arrived at a consensus on seat sharing at a crucial meeting held here, leaders of the parties said. As per the agreement, BDJS, floated recently by Sree Narayana Dharma Paripalana Yogam (SNDP) would contest 37 seats, BJP state president Kummanam Rajasekharan and BDJS president Thushar Vellappally told a joint press conference.

SNDP is an outfit of the numerically stronger backward Ezhava
community in the state. Rajasekharan said the National Democratic Alliance's state committee meeting would be held in the first week of
April and a candidate list of the partners was expected to be announced before that. Besides the BJP and BDJS, Kerala Congress, led by former union minister PC Thomas is also part of the NDA in the state.

BJP is looking to open its account in the upcoming assembly elections in Kerala. The saffron party has never been successful in the assembly and Lok Sabha elections in the state. It, however, put up a better showing in last year's civic elections.


Updated Date: Mar 21, 2016 16:22 PM

Also Watch

Watch: Firstpost test rides the new Thunderbird 500X in Goa and walks you through the Royal Enfield Garage Cafe
  • Tuesday, April 17, 2018 Varun Dhawan on Shoojit Sircar's October, 5-star reviews and working with Anushka Sharma in Sui Dhaaga
  • Saturday, April 14, 2018 Ambedkar Jayanti: Re-visiting Babasaheb's ideals exposes fake Dalit politics of Rahul Gandhi and Congress
  • Monday, April 9, 2018 48 hours with Huawei P20 Pro: Triple camera offering is set to redefine smartphone imaging
  • Monday, April 16, 2018 Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore interview: Sports can't be anyone's fiefdom, we need an ecosystem to nurture raw talent

Also See