BJP fields ex-AAP MLA Ved Prakash as party's candidate for Bawana assembly bypoll

New Delhi: The Delhi BJP on Friday announced ex-AAP legislator Ved Prakash as its candidate for the yet to be announced by-poll at the Bawana Assembly constituency in outer Delhi.


Delhi BJP president Manoj Tiwari announced his name as the party candidate for Bawana by-poll

Prakash, who was legislator from Bawana, resigned from his Assembly and AAP membership in March this year and joined the saffron party.

Delhi BJP president Manoj Tiwari announced his name as the party candidate from the reserved Assembly constituency.

Congress and AAP have already announced its candidates for the by-poll. While Congress has fielded three time MLA Surender Kumar, AAP has given the ticket to party volunteer Ramchandra.

As per the norms, a by-poll in an Assembly constituency should be held within six months of it falling vacant.

The main political outfits in the fray — Congress, AAP and BJP — all wish to win the seat for different reasons. The Congress is looking to open its account in Delhi with this win while the BJP will try to increase its tally from four.

The AAP, having a mammoth majority of 66 MLAs in the 70-member Assembly, would like to reassert its dominance in Delhi, dented in the face of back-to-back defeats in Rajouri Garden Assembly by-poll and the MCD elections.

Updated Date: Jul 01, 2017 13:21 PM

Also Watch

It's A Wrap: Omerta star Rajkummar Rao in conversation with Parul Sharma
  • Thursday, April 26, 2018 In the Kanjarbhat community, a campaign against 'virginity tests' is slowly gaining ground
  • Thursday, April 19, 2018 Watch: National-level skater and coach Dhwanit Rele trains and nurtures budding athletes
  • Monday, May 14, 2018 FOMO Episode 1: Google Assistant, This is America, Sonam's wedding & Global Warming
  • Saturday, May 19, 2018 Social Media Star: Rajkummar Rao and Bhuvan Bam open up about selfie culture, online trolls

Also See