Biplab Kumar Deb sworn-in as new Chief Minister of Tripura: Narendra Modi says govt also for those who did not vote for BJP

Biplab Kumar Deb was sworn-in as the tenth Chief Minister of Tripura, assuming the charge of the first BJP government in the state after trouncing the Left Front government who ruled the northeastern state for 25 years. The swearing-in ceremony, held at the Assam Rifles ground, was attended by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, BJP chief Amit Shah, Union home minister Rajnath Singh, senior BJP leaders Lal Krishna Advani and Murli Manohar Joshi.

Former chief minister Manik Sarkar was present at the ceremony too. In a rare and unusual gesture, BJP national secretary Ram Madhav and Deb visited the outgoing chief minister and invited him for the oath-taking ceremony.

Biplab Kumar Deb along with Narendra Modi and Amit Shah. Image courtesy: Twitter/ @BJP4Odisha

Biplab Kumar Deb along with Narendra Modi and Amit Shah. Image courtesy: Twitter/ @BJP4Odisha

Governor Tathagata Roy administered the oath of office to BJP leader Jishnu Deb Burman as the deputy chief minister along with seven other ministers, including Indigenous People's Front of Tripura (IPFT) chief NC Debbarma. The IPFT is an ally of the BJP in the northeastern state.

Ahead of taking charge of the state, 48-year-old Deb told NDTV about his priorities and his new role as the chief minister. "I love the people of Tripura. I even love the communist and Manik Sarkar, but I am annoyed that they got so much time but didn't utilise the resources of the state to develop it. We will rebuild it from scratch," Deb was quoted as saying by NDTV.

Speaking at the occasion, Modi thanked the people of Tripura and said that the newly formed "BJP government is for people who voted for the party and also for those who did not."

"Elections are over and we have to look ahead. We will serve every citizen of Tripura. I want to thank the people of Tripura. The polls were peaceful and for that too, the people have to be congratulated," the prime minister said. Modi said that in the history of India, there are some elections that will always be discussed. "The 2018 Tripura elections will be one such example. People will continue to discuss these polls," he added. The prime minister urged all elected members to keep their party differences aside and work together for the betterment of Tripura.


Chief ministers of BJP-ruled states - Vijay Rupani (Gujarat), Shivraj Singh Chouhan (Madhya Pradesh), Sarbananda Sonowal (Assam), Raghubar Das (Jharkhand) besides others also attended the function.

Outgoing Tripura chief minister Manik Sarkar also attended the event.

Updated Date: Mar 09, 2018 14:32 PM

Also Watch

Watch: The true stories from Dharavi that inspired Rajinikanth's Kaala
  • Thursday, March 8, 2018 Watch: Cyrus Khan talks about Parkour, jumping across walls and why he hates sitting
  • Thursday, May 31, 2018 Unwind: India's basketball sensation Amjyot Singh has his eyes set on becoming an NBA regular
  • Monday, May 28, 2018 First Day First Showsha — Review of Solo: A Star Wars Story in 10 questions
  • Saturday, May 19, 2018 Social Media Star: Rajkummar Rao and Bhuvan Bam open up about selfie culture, online trolls

Also See