Bihar polls: Voting begins in in the fifth and final phase of election

Patna: Voting began on Thursday in 57 constituencies spread over nine districts in the fifth and final phase of the Bihar Assembly poll amid tight security.

The 57 seats include 24 in the Seemanchal region bordering West Bengal spread over crucial districts of Madhubani, Darbhanga, Supual, Madhepura, Saharsa, Araria, Kisanganj, Purnea and Katihar.

 Bihar polls: Voting begins in in the fifth and final phase of election

Representational image. PTI

An electorate size of 1,55,43,594 are eligible exercise their franchise, in deciding the fate of 827 candidates, including 58 women.

Tight security arrangements have been put in place to ensure a free and fair poll.

A total of 1,033 companies (one company has 100 personnel) of state police force and Central paramilitary force, besides 74,469 polling personnel would be deployed on all the 14,709 polling stations to ensure free and fair polling in the fifth and final phase of voting on 57 seats, Additional Chief Electoral Officer R Lakshmanan said.

Out of 14,709 polling stations, 5,518 and 276 polling stations have been declared as critical and Left-wing extremist-hit booths respectively, he said.

Results for the elections would be declared for all the phases on 8 November.

Meanwhile, authorities have seized Rs 2.51 crore unaccounted cash besides 83,067 litres of illicit country made and foreign liquor worth Rs 1.34 crore from nine districts prior to the poll.

Except for two Naxal-hit seats in Simri Bhaktiyarpur and Mahisi in Saharsa district, polling will take place on the remaining 55 constituencies at scheduled 7 AM to 5 PM, Lakshmanan said.


Your guide to the latest cricket World Cup stories, analysis, reports, opinions, live updates and scores on Follow us on Twitter and Instagram or like our Facebook page for updates throughout the ongoing event in England and Wales.

Updated Date: Nov 05, 2015 07:53:09 IST