Co-presented by

Bhupesh Baghel says Narendra Modi didn't give report card of work done over 5 years, claims all initiatives were failures

Bhopal: Chhattisgarh chief minister and Congress leader Bhupesh Baghel on Sunday accused Bharatiya Janata Party of being bereft of real issues and vision and fighting these elections on pseudo-nationalism.

Addressing a press briefing, Baghel said: "In these elections, BJP is neither talking about their past five years of work nor their vision for the next five years. Election Commission continuously speaks against usage of armed forces in elections, yet the BJP is repeatedly violating the model code. This makes it clear that BJP has nothing to talk about and they are fighting these elections on the name of pseudo-nationalism."

He also attacked Prime Minister Narendra Modi and said: "BJP party workers are seeking votes in the name of Narendra Modi and 'Modiji' is seeking votes on the name of the army's valor."

Sharpening his attack against Modi, Baghel cited various initiatives of the central government and said, "Narendra Modi is the first prime minister who did not do a single press conference in five years and did not even give a report card of his work.

"The issues on which he fought 2014 elections remain untouched and his key initiatives — be it Smart city, Swachh Bharat Mission (SBM), employment to 2 crore people, start-up India, etc — were all unsuccessful. The biggest failure was demonetisation which also resulted in the death of 125 people."

He also claimed that the BJP is losing these elections and UPA government will come to power with Rahul Gandhi as the prime minister after 23 May.

The Lok Sabha elections are being held in seven phases in the country. The first four phases were held on 11, 18, 23, and 29 April. The rest three phases are scheduled to be conducted on 6, 12, and 19 May. The counting of votes will be done on 23 May.

Your guide to the latest election news, analysis, commentary, live updates and schedule for Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on Follow us on Twitter and Instagram or like our Facebook page for updates from all 543 constituencies for the upcoming general elections.

Updated Date: May 05, 2019 15:38:43 IST