Bawana Election Result 2020 LIVE Updates | Delhi Assembly Elections; Constituency, Party, Candidate Name Wise Winner, Loser, Leading, Trailing

Election Result 2020 LIVE | Candidate, Constituency and Party-Wise Winner List

AAP WON Jai Bhagwan 95,715 Votes 48.38% Votes
BJP Ravinder Kumar 84,189 Votes 42.55% Votes
INC Surender Kumar 12,803 Votes 6.47% Votes
CPI Abhipsa Chauhan 1,227 Votes 0.62% Votes
AAPP Pradeep 921 Votes 0.47% Votes
BSP Ranjit Ram 1,941 Votes 0.98% Votes

Delhi Assembly Election 2020, Bawana profile:  The Bawana Assemby constituency, which is along the Haryana border, saw a straight fight between the AAP and the BJP. AAP's Jai Bhagwan defeated BJP's Ravinder Kumar by over 11,000 votes.

With a large number of villages, it is a rural constituency which is located on the outskirts of Delhi city.

The constituency, which is reserved for Scheduled Castes, was in the news in 2017 after its legislator defected to the BJP.

This necessitated a bypoll which was won by the AAP.

Here is a brief profile of Bawana constituency:

Constituency Name: Bawana

Constituency Number: 7

District Name: North West Delhi

Total Electors: 3,03,108

Female Electors: 1,33,614

Male Electors: 1,69,464

Third Gender: 30

Reserved: For SC

Results in previous elections: Surender Kumar of the Congress held the seat for three terms until 2008, when he was defeated by BJP’s Gugan Singh. In the 2015 election, Ved Parkash defeated Singh by 50,000 votes. Prakash later defected to the BJP. In the upcoming election, the AAP has given the ticket to Jai Bhagwan Upkar, a former BSP councillor in MCD, while the BJP has dropped Singh and fielded Ravindra Kumar Indraj. The Congress, on the other hand, has persisted with Surender Kumar, its 2015 poll candidate.

Demographics: Dalits and Jats are an important vote bank in the constituency. Moreover, Purvanchalis form at least 35 percent of the electorate in Bawana, which is traditionally part of the Jat heartland in Delhi. Villages of Punjab Khor, Qutabgarh, Mungeshpur, Bajitpur Thakaran, Auchandi, Daryapur Kalan, Salahpur Majra give a rural flavour to the constituency. Housing colonies like Vijay Nagar Colony, Indraj colony and JJ Colony are also part of the constituency.

Find latest and upcoming tech gadgets online on Tech2 Gadgets. Get technology news, gadgets reviews & ratings. Popular gadgets including laptop, tablet and mobile specifications, features, prices, comparison.

Updated Date: Feb 11, 2020 21:49:55 IST