Ballimaran Election Result 2020 LIVE Updates | Delhi Assembly Elections; Constituency, Party, Candidate Name Wise Winner, Loser, Leading, Trailing

Election Result 2020 LIVE | Candidate, Constituency and Party-Wise Winner List

AAP WON Imran Hussain 65,644 Votes 64.65% Votes
BJP Lata 29,472 Votes 29.03% Votes
INC Haroon Yusuf 4,802 Votes 4.73% Votes
BSP Deep Chand 167 Votes 0.16% Votes
BRD Krishan Kumar 827 Votes 0.81% Votes
RRP Zafar Mirza 41 Votes 0.04% Votes
RRP Sajid Ali 56 Votes 0.06% Votes
PPID Hansa 124 Votes 0.12% Votes
IND Arif Nabi 59 Votes 0.06% Votes
  • Dalits and Muslims together are in a majority in the Ballimaran Assembly constituency comprising 3/5th of all the electors

  • Hussain, who is also the Food and Supplies Minister in the Arvind Kejriwal candidate, is back in the fray for a second time

  • Hussain had defeated Congress leader Haroon Yusuf who had won the constituency between 1993 and 2014

  • Also in the fray are Lata Sodhi on a BJP ticket and Deep Chand as a candidate of the Bahujan Samaj Party

Ballimaran Assembly Election 2020 | The Aam Aadmi Party's Imran Hussain has won the election from the Ballimaran constituency against the Bharatiya Janata Party's Lata Sodhi by a margin of 36,172 votes.

 Ballimaran Election Result 2020 LIVE Updates | Delhi Assembly Elections; Constituency, Party, Candidate Name Wise Winner, Loser, Leading, Trailing

Five-time MLA Congress' Haroon Yusuf will face incumbent AAP MLA Imran Hussain in Ballimaran. Twitter@ImranHussaain/@haroonyusuf22

Here is a brief look at Sadar Bazar constituency:

Constituency Name: Ballimaran
Constituency Number: 22
District Name: Central Delhi
Total Electors: 1,40,776
Female Electors: 61,992
Male Electors: 78,777
Third Gender: 7
Reserved: No

Results in previous elections: The Ballimaran Assembly constituency was a Congress bastion for over two decades with former minister Haroon Yusuf winning the election from the constituency continuously between 1993 and 2014. Congress lost the seat in the 2015 Assembly election with AAP candidate Imran Hussain registering a victory margin of over 41,000 votes against BJP's Shyam Lal Morwal.

Demographics: The Dalit-Muslim combination could prove to be decisive in Ballimaran. Together, they form nearly 3/5th of the total electorate in the constituency. The constituency has areas such as Ahata Kale Sahib, Amarpuri, Bagichi Allauddin, Bagichi Raghunath, Bara Dari Sher Afgan, Bara Hindu Rao, Baradari Sher Afgan, Basti Bagrian, Basti Harphool Singh, Basti Julahan, Bazar Ballimaran, Bazar Chandni Chowk, Bazar Lal Kuan, Chamelian Road, Chawri Bazar, Chinyot Basti, Dharam Pura, Faizal Road, Farash Khana, Gali Shyamji, Haveli Hissamuddin Haider, Hoshiar Singh Marg and Jogiwara. The Muslim-dominated constituency has a gender ratio of 817, which is below the city average of 824.

The fate of the candidates is to be revealed on the counting day on 11 February.


Find latest and upcoming tech gadgets online on Tech2 Gadgets. Get technology news, gadgets reviews & ratings. Popular gadgets including laptop, tablet and mobile specifications, features, prices, comparison.

Updated Date: Feb 11, 2020 17:10:57 IST