Co-presented by

Assembly Election Results 2017: 3 out of 5 states will have a BJP CM, Manipur hangs in balance

With the dramatic developments overnight and 24 hours after the election results for the five states were announced, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) will form the government in three out of the five states that went to polls. Its parliamentary board authorised party chief Amit Shah to decide chief minister probables in these states. The decision will be taken in consultation with the observers appointed for each state. After the decisive results of the elections in five states — with BJP enjoying full majority in Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand — the party, in the last 24 hours, snapped up enough numbers to stake claim to form the government in Manipur and Goa as well.

Despite being a runner-up in Goa, with Congress in the lead, the BJP on Sunday pulled off a coup and staked the claim to form the next government in coalition with local outfits and independents under Manohar Parrikar, a day after the fractured verdict. The BJP, with 13 MLAs in the 40-member state assembly, finished second after the Congress, which has the highest number of legislators; 17. Union minister and the BJP's election-in-charge for Goa, Nitin Gadkari on Sunday said, "Parrikar will resign as the Defence Minister before taking oath as Chief Minister of Goa."

 Assembly Election Results 2017: 3 out of 5 states will have a BJP CM, Manipur hangs in balance

Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh at the party headquarters to celebrate victory in UP and Uttrakhand Assembly elections on Sunday. PTI

In Manipur, Amid the BJP claiming support of 32 MLAs in the 60-member Manipur Assembly, outgoing Deputy Chief Minister Gaikhangam on Sunday said the Congress, being the single largest party, must be allowed first to form the government. "The Congress has emerged as the single largest party with 28 seats, so as per the Constitution the single largest party should be called first to form the government and prove its strength on the floor of the House," he told reporters here.

Flanked by NPP and LJP leaders and their winning candidates, BJP general secretary Ram Madhav told a press conference in Imphal, "We have been able to come to an understanding with the NPP and the Lok Janshakti Party in our bid to form the government in Manipur." The NPP and the LJP, both NDA constituents at the Centre, have won four seats and one seat respectively. Despite the backing of these five MLAs, BJP, which has won 21 seats in the 60-member assembly, will require the backing of five more to reach the magic figure of 31.

Madhav said that as per an "understanding" with another NDA partner Naga People's Front, which has won four seats, the number will go up to 30 and the support of one more MLA be "secured". In Manipur, Congress had emerged as the single largest party with 28 seats. The party raised an alarm as the BJP appeared on course to forming the government in Manipur. "As per the Constitution and norms, the single largest party is always invited to form the government. The Modi government through the Governors, who are acting as its stooges, is subverting the law and democracy," Congress' chief spokesperson Randeep Surjewala said.

Addressing a press conference after the BJP parliamentary board meeting in New Delhi on Sunday, Union Minister JP Nadda said BJP leaders M Venkaiah Naidu and Bhupendra Yadav will go to Uttar Pradesh as observers. Rural Development Minister Narendra Singh Tomar and party leader Saroj Pandey have been named observers for Uttarakhand.

Power Minister Piyush Goyal and national vice-president Vinay Sahasrabuddhe have been sent as observers to Manipur. "We will hold the meetings soon after Holi," Nadda said. "Party president Amit Shah has been tasked to decide the Chief Ministers from the party in all the states after seeing the reports that the observers send," Nadda said.

Speculations are escalating over who might bag the top job in Uttar Pradesh. While the contenders include the state unit chief Keshav Prasad Maurya and hardliner MP of Gorakhpur Yogi Adityanath and telecom minister Manoj Sinha is touted as a strong candidate for the coveted job. A section of party leaders is also talking about eight-time MLA Suresh Khanna besides Home Minister Rajnath Singh, whose profile makes him a natural claimant for the job. Sources, however, have told The Times of India that Rajnath is not too keen.

With inputs from agencies

Your guide to the latest seat tally, live updates, analysis and list of winners for Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on Follow us on Twitter and Instagram or like our Instagram or like our Facebook page for updates from all 542 constituencies on counting day of the general elections.

Updated Date: Mar 13, 2017 17:03:48 IST