Asansol Lok Sabha Election 2019 LIVE Updates: BJP's Babul Supriyo leads against TMC's Moon Moon Sen

Election Result 2019 LIVE | Candidate, Constituency and Party-Wise Winner List

BJP WON Babul Supriyo 633,378 Votes 51% Votes
AITC Moon Moon Sen 435,741 Votes 35% Votes
CPI(M) Gouranga Chatterjee 87,608 Votes 7% Votes
INC Biswarup Mondal 21,038 Votes 2% Votes
NOTA Nota 14,447 Votes 1% Votes
BMP Md. Zahir Alam 12,677 Votes 1% Votes
IND Swaraj Das (Bapi) 10,066 Votes 1% Votes
BSP Sandip Sarkar 7,860 Votes 1% Votes
SHS Abhisekh Kumar Singh 5,761 Votes 0% Votes
IND Kajal Banerjee 5,176 Votes 0% Votes
SUCI Amar Chowdhury 4,383 Votes 0% Votes

Asansol Lok Sabha Constituency

Constituency number: 40

Total electors: 14,69,684 (2014 estimates)

Male electors: 7,91,896

Female electors: 6,77,788

Assembly Constituencies: Pandaveswar, Raniganj, Jamuria, Asansol, Dakshin, Asansol Uttar, Kulti, Barabani

Reserved: No

Delimitation: Yes. In 2008

Results in last four Lok Sabha elections: Union Minister Babul Supriyo won the seat in the 2014 elections on BJP ticket. He defeated the sitting MP Bansa Gopal Choudhary of the CPM. Between 1998 and 2005, Bikash Choudhary of the CPM represented the constituency.

Demographics: Asansol is the second largest city in West Bengal, situated close to Jharkhand, coal and railway industries have dominated the economic landscape of this area. Coal workers are a big vote bank in the constituency. Due to economic opportunities in the area, a large number of non-Bengali Hindi speaking migrants too have settled in Asansol, making it a cosmopolitan vote bank for parties like the BJP.

Your guide to the latest cricket World Cup stories, analysis, reports, opinions, live updates and scores on Follow us on Twitter and Instagram or like our Facebook page for updates throughout the ongoing event in England and Wales.

Updated Date: May 23, 2019 13:20:09 IST