Sponsored by

Andhra: TRS candidates win but margins vary from lowest to highest

Hyderabad - Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) Chief K. Chandrasekhara Rao's victory margin in Medak Lok Sabha constituency, was the highest in undivided Andhra Pradesh.

KCR, as the TRS president is popularly known, defeated Shravan Kumar of the Congress by 397,029 votes. Riding on the Telangana sentiment, he surpassed Indira Gandhi's victory margin. The former prime minister was elected from Medak in 1980 by 219,214 votes.

 Andhra: TRS candidates win but margins vary from lowest to highest

KCR's victory margin surpassed the margin of Indira Gandhi. PTI

KCR also won the assembly election by 19,218 votes from Gajwel, one of the segments under Medak parliamentary constituency.

The lowest margin of victory was recorded in Mahabubnagar Lok Sabha constituency. Jithender Reddy of the TRS defeated senior Congress leader and Central Minister S.Jaipal Reddy by 2,590 votes.

The highest margin for Lok Sabha elections in Seemandhra was in Kadapa, which was won by Y.S. Avinash Reddy. The cousin of YSR Congress Party (YSRCP) Chief Y. S. Jaganmohan Reddy bagged the seat by a majority of 190,265 votes.

Thotha Narasimham of the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) won the Kakinada Lok Sabha seat by 3,431 votes.

In the assembly elections, TRS candidate Harish Rao retained Siddipet seat by 93,369, the highest margin in both the Telugu speaking states. In Seemandhra, Jaganmohan Reddy won Pulivendula assembly seat by 75,243 votes.

A difference of only 12 votes decided the outcome in Mangalagiri assembly constituency in Seemandhra. Ramakrishna Reddy of YSRCP defeated G. Chiranjeevi of TDP by the narrowest margin.

It was a close finish between TDP and YSRCP in eight assembly constituencies in Seemandhra. The victory margin was less than 1,000 votes.

In Zaheerabad assembly constituency, former minister Geeta Reddy scraped through by 814 votes, the lowest in Telangana.


Your guide to the latest election news, analysis, commentary, live updates and schedule for Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on firstpost.com/elections. Follow us on Twitter and Instagram or like our Facebook page for updates from all 543 constituencies for the upcoming general elections.

Updated Date: May 17, 2014 18:20:31 IST

Also See