Andhra Pradesh Assembly Speaker rejects petitions for disqualification of 13 MLAs

Vijayawada: Andhra Pradesh Assembly Speaker Kodela Sivaprasada Rao on Saturday  rejected two separate petitions filed by Opposition YSR Congress seeking disqualification of 13 of its MLAs, who defected to the ruling TDP in recent months.

Andhra Pradesh assembly. AFP

Andhra Pradesh assembly. AFP

"The petitions did not comply with the relevant rules seeking disqualification of the legislators. As such I have dismissed them," the Speaker told reporters.

While the first petition was filed by the then YSRC whip N Amarnath Reddy, seeking disqualification of 11 defectors, the second was filed by MLA Mustafa Sheik against two other legislators who subsequently switched sides.

Both these petitions were rejected.

In all 20 MLAs of YSRC defected to the Telugu Desam Party since February 22 this year.

Interestingly, Amarnath Reddy too jumped over to the TDP last month.

Updated Date: Jul 02, 2016 17:26 PM

Also Watch

Social Media Star: Abhishek Bachchan, Varun Grover reveal how they handle selfies, trolls and broccoli
  • Monday, July 16, 2018 It's a Wrap: Soorma star Diljit Dosanjh and Hockey legend Sandeep Singh in conversation with Parul Sharma
  • Monday, July 16, 2018 Watch: Dalit man in Uttar Pradesh defies decades of prejudice by taking out baraat in Thakur-dominated Nizampur village
  • Monday, July 16, 2018 India's water crisis: After govt apathy, Odisha farmer carves out 3-km canal from hills to tackle scarcity in village
  • Sunday, July 15, 2018 Maurizio Sarri, named as new Chelsea manager, is owner Roman Abramovich's latest gamble in quest for 'perfect football'

Also See