Amma wave: Jaya proves exit polls wrong, set for consecutive term as Tamil Nadu CM

In what can be termed as a historic verdict, Tamil Nadu Chief Minister J Jayalalithaa is all set to retain power. This is the first time in 32 years that an incumbent CM has returned to power. The last time this happened was in 1984, when her mentor MG Ramachandran won his third consecutive elections.

Tamil Nadu CM J Jayalalithaa.

Tamil Nadu CM J Jayalalithaa.

As per reports coming in, the chief minister is leading in her constituency, RK Nagar by over 16,000 votes. She is way ahead of her nearest rival from the DMK, Shimla Muthchozlan.

Finance Minister and her trusted lieutenant O Panneerselvam was leading in Bodinayakanur.

Meanwhile her party, AIADMK, is leading in atleast 139 seats while rival DMK and its ally Congress are leading in 92 seats.


Initial reports suggested that DMK Treasurer MK Stalin is leading in Kolathur constituency by 2,758 votes.

The "Third Front" People Welfare Front (PWF) has not been leading in any seat so far. Its CM candidate Vijayakanth failed to win from the Ulundurpettai constituency.

The PMK, which is fighting on all the 234 seats, is leading in four seats but its CM candidate Anbumani Ramadoss was trailing at the third spot in Pennagaram constituency.

The developments are interesting as almost all exit polls were predicting a victory for the DMK alliance.

Since the 1984 elections, no party has ever beaten anti-incumbency to sweep back to power.

Two out of three exit polls were clearly showing a win for the DMK-Congress alliance. While the India Today gave the AIADMK 95 seats, the News Nation survey projected 97 seats for the ruling party. Only the Times Now - C-Voter predicted an Amma victory, giving the party 139 seats.

On the other hand, the DMK alliance was expected to do very well. The same exit polls, predicted that DMK alliance will be at least the single largest alliance. The India Today survey gave the alliance 132 seats while News Nation predicted 116 seats - 2 short of a majority. Only the C-Voter survey gave the opposition party 78 seats.


The Third Front, which was expected to play Kingmaker or atleast win a considerable amount of seats, has not been able to do any damage so far.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi congratulated Jayalalithaa for her historic win. However, BJP has, yet again, failed to breach the Dravidian citadel. The Tamil Nadu party chief Tamilisai Soundararajan is trailing in Virugambakkam constituency.

The election for the 234 seat Tamil Nadu Assembly took place on 16 May. Around 40 million people exercised their vote. Voting in two constituencies, Thanjavur and Aravakurichi , however, have been deferred to 23 May after large scale distribution of money was unearthed by the Election Commission.

Firstpost is now on WhatsApp. For the latest analysis, commentary and news updates, sign up for our WhatsApp services. Just go to and hit the Subscribe button.

Updated Date: May 19, 2016 14:19:11 IST

Also See