Allahabad: BJP, BSP to take on SP's Kunwar Singh for historic seat

Allahabad: It is set to be a case of caste equations and old loyalties to the fore in the contest for the Allahabad Lok Sabha constituency as BJP and BSP look to wrestle the seat from the ruling SP in Uttar Pradesh.

File photo of Kunwar Rewati Raman Singh.

File photo of Kunwar Rewati Raman Singh.

Samajwadi Party has made clear its intention to retain the seat by fielding sitting MP Kunwar Rewati Raman Singh. But looking for a change of luck here, Bahujan Samaj Party, the runners-up in the previous polls, has expelled its 2009 Brahmin nominee and gone with an OBC woman candidate for 2014.

And, with its aim set on outsmarting both SP and BSP, BJP has sprung a surprise by fielding a former SP leader and businessman as its contestant for the seat.

Businessman-cum-politician Shyama Charan Gupta, the BJP's candidate for the Allahabad seat, had left the saffron outfit to spend years with SP, including as an MP from the party from Banda. However, after being denied a ticket this time by SP, he joined BJP and was promptly given the Allahabad ticket.

The move by the saffron outfit, however, has sorely disappointed senior BJP leader and former Assembly Speaker Keshri Nath Tripathi and Nand Gopal Nandi, a Cabinet minister in the former Mayawati government who was recently expelled by BSP. Both Tripathi and Nandi were aspiring for a BJP ticket.

BSP has put its trust in former Zila Panchayat president Keshri Devi Patel, who is expected to bring a chunk of OBC votes to the party's assured kitty of Dalit support.

But SP would be counting on two-time MP Rewati Raman to deliver the seat. Rewati Raman had made his Lok Sabha debut in 2004 by pulling off a stunning victory against three-time BJP MP Murli Manohar Joshi.

Congress, which has never won the seat after 1984 when actor Amitabh Bachchan trounced political heavyweight Hemwati Nandan Bahuguna to clinch the contest by the highest-ever margin of about two lakh votes, is yet to decide on its nominee for 2014's electoral battle.

In the last general elections, when the party appeared to have made a comeback in UP by winning 21 of the 80 Lok Sabha seats in the state, the Congress candidate here finished fourth after polling less than 10 per cent of the votes.

Although Aam Aadmi Party may queer the pitch here for the several players locked in a multi-cornered contest, it is yet to formally announce its candidate for the seat. The buzz, however, is that AAP founder-member Prashant Bhushan, who has his roots in the city, may try his luck from the historic constituency.


Updated Date: Mar 25, 2014 13:36 PM

Also See