AK Antony, Veerendra Kumar file nomination papers for Rajya Sabha polls

Thiruvananthapuram: Senior Congress leader and former defence minister AK Antony and JD(U) state president MP Veerendra Kumar on Wednesday filed nomination papers as UDF nominees for the biennial Rajya Sabha polls from Kerala.

Both Antony and Veerendara Kumar submitted their nomination papers to State Legislature secretary PD Sarangadharam at the Legislature secretariat here.

AK Antony. PTI

AK Antony. PTI

UDF leaders, including Chief Minister Oommen Chandy, KPCC President VM Sudheeran, Home Minister Ramesh Chennithala, KC-M leader KM Mani and IUML leader and Industries Minister PK Kunhalikutty were among those present on the occasion.

Three seats from Kerala will fall vacant in the Upper House as the terms of Congress leader Antony, CPI(M) leaders T N Seema and KN Balagopal are due to expire this month.

Of the three seats, ruling Congress led-UDF can win two and CPI(M)-led LDF opposition one, based on the strength of the legislators of both the fronts.

Meanwhile, the opposition LDF has decided to allot the lone RS seat that the Front can win to the CPI(M).

The party has nominated former Kollam District Secretary KS Somaprasad as its candidate.

Election for the RS seats will be held on 21 March.

The last date for filing of nomination is 11 March and withdrawal on 14 March.

Biennial elections to 13 Rajya Sabha seats in six states, including Assam and Kerala, will be held on March 21. Twelve of the 13 seats are falling vacant in April.


Updated Date: Mar 10, 2016 13:33 PM

Also See