Ahead of Nagaland polls, three MLAs from ruling Naga People's Front resign; Speaker accepts resignation

Kohima: The ruling Naga People's Front (NPF) suffered a jolt as three of its MLAs resigned from the membership of the Nagaland Assembly and also from the party ahead of the state elections on 27 February.

File image of Nagaland chief minister TR Zeliang. Image courtesy: PIB

File image of Nagaland chief minister TR Zeliang. Image courtesy: PIB

A notification issued by the Nagaland Assembly, commissioner and secretary, N Benjamin Newmai said NPF MLAs — Longrineken, L Khumo Khiamniungan and Pukhayi Sumi, have resigned from the House.

Assembly Speaker Imtiwapang Aier accepted the resignation of Longrineken and L Khumo and declared the seats vacant on Friday, Newmai said, adding that Pukhayi’s resignation was accepted on 31 January.

The three were also parliamentary secretaries in the NPF government led by TR Zeliang.

Updated Date: Feb 02, 2018 21:40 PM

Also Watch

IPL 2018: Royal Challengers Bangalore eye revival against Chennai Super Kings as 'Cauvery Derby' comes back to life
  • Thursday, April 26, 2018 In the Kanjarbhat community, a campaign against 'virginity tests' is slowly gaining ground
  • Tuesday, April 24, 2018 It's A Wrap: Beyond the Clouds stars Ishaan Khatter, Malavika Mohanan in conversation with Parul Sharma
  • Monday, April 9, 2018 48 hours with Huawei P20 Pro: Triple camera offering is set to redefine smartphone imaging
  • Monday, April 16, 2018 Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore interview: Sports can't be anyone's fiefdom, we need an ecosystem to nurture raw talent

Also See