AAP candidates for Punjab polls include Arjuna awardee, SC lawyer, noted radiologist and more

As the Aam Aadmi Party released its first list of candidates on Thursday for 19 constituencies for Punjab Assembly elections scheduled early next year, by nominating senior lawyers HS Phoolka and Himmat Singh Shergill, it stole a march on its rivals — Shiromani Akali Dal and Congress.

Arjuna awardee, noted radiologist, lawyers, human rights activist, vocal Dalit supporter are among the 19 who are prepping for the election battle.

Ahbaab Singh Grewal (Ludhiana West)

The incumbent secretary and spokesperson of the AAP Farmer and Labour Wing in Punjab, 37-year-old Ahbaab Singh Grewal joined AAP as a volunteer in 2012. He has been active as a convenor for the party in Ludhiana and has been hosting several meetings with the farmers and labour unions.

Sajjan Singh Cheema (Sultanpur Lodhi)

Former captain of Indian basketball team and an Arjuna awardee, Sajjan Singh Cheema represented India in 1982 Asian Games and other international tournaments. Cheema, 59, is currently president sports cell AAP Punjab.
Born in 1957 in Dabulian village in Kapurthala district, Sajjan Singh Cheema served as SP with Punjab Police and the Deputy Commissioner of Police (Traffic)in Ludhiana.

HS Phoolka (Dakha)

A senior advocate with Delhi High Court, Supreme Court lawyer and human rights activist, HS Phoolka is known for fighting legal cases for the victims of 1984 anti-Sikh riots. The 61-year-old Phoolka had contested for Lok Sabha seat from Ludhiana in 2014, however, he lost to Congress' Ravneet Bittu. He had resigned from all the party posts, saying he wanted to devote "undivided attention" to the anti-Sikh riots cases which he said have reached a "critical stage".

However, he sought pardon and joined the party.

Himmat Singh Shergill (SAS Nagar)

A Supreme Court lawyer and a barrister-at-law from the UK, 36-year-old Himmat Singh Shergill will be contesting from SAS Nagar. Shergill had lost from Anandpur Sahib in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections.

Mohan Singh Phalianwala (Ferozepur Rural)

A former Bahujan Samaj Party leader, Mohan Singh Phalianwala has represented Ferozepur in 1992 and 1996. Phalianwala joined Aam Aadmi Party in June 2016 as he said that the party 'stood for the poor and Dalits'.

Harjot Singh Bains (Sahnewal)

Chosen as the youngest member of AAP national executive, 25-year-old Harjot Singh Bains is a lawyer and founder convener and president of state's AAP youth wing. Bains is known to have actively participated in the Anna Hazare movement and had been fighting for the rights of the youth.

Inderbir Singh Nijjar (Amritsar South)

A convener of AAP's intellectual cell in Amritsar, 61-year-old Inderbir Singh Nijjar is also a well-known radiologist. He is also known for

Rupinder Kaur Rubi (Bathinda Rural)

Kaur joined AAP in 2013 as a volunteer and is currently the incharge of the party's women wing. Having completed her Masters in Law, 27-year-old Kaur is also completing her PhD in Law from Punjab University. She is also one of the youngest members of the party.

Jagdeep Singh Brar (Muktsar)

Former SAD and PPP leader, 49-year-old Jagdeep Singh Brar is an agriculturist who was also elected as a municipal councillor twice once as an Independent candidate and other from Akali. His family has been actively involved in Anna Hazare movement.

Kultar Singh Sandhwa (Kotkapura)

During his tenure in Congress, 49-year-old Sandhwa, who is also the grand-nephew of former President Giani Zail Singh, was elected a sarpanch of Sandhwan village. Sandhwa was actively involved in Anna Hazaare movement 2011 and has been supporting Jan Lok Pal Bill.

Rajpreet S Randhawa (Ajnala)

Randhawa worked as the president of the Municipal Council in Ramdass between 2008 and 2013. He is known to conduct mass marriages of poor girls and is a known social activist.

Firstpost is now on WhatsApp. For the latest analysis, commentary and news updates, sign up for our WhatsApp services. Just go to Firstpost.com/Whatsapp and hit the Subscribe button.

Updated Date: Aug 05, 2016 16:13:51 IST

Also See