Arundhati Roy on Man Booker Prize 2017 longlist — 20 years after she won for God of Small Things

Arundhati Roy won the Man Booker prize for her novel The God of Small Things two decades ago. This year, she is on the longlist for this prize again, for her latest work The Ministry of Utmost Happiness.

Arundhati Roy and her novel The Ministry of Utmost Happiness.

Arundhati Roy and her novel The Ministry of Utmost Happiness.

The judges have described it as "a rich and vital book [that] comes from the bowels of India". Apart from Roy's book, 12 other novels chosen from among 144 submissions have made it to the longlist for the £50,000 prize. These novels had to be published in the UK between 1 October 2016 and 30 September 2017.

In the longlist are two Pakistani authors, Kamila Shamsie and Mohsin Hamid; two Irish authors, Sebastian Barry and Mike McCormack; four from the US and four from the UK. American writers have been considered for the Man Booker prize only since 2014, and Paul Beatty became the first American author to win it in 2016 for his book The Sellout, which was a racial satire.

Also featured in the list is a debut novel written by a bookshop worker called Fiona Mozley. She began writing Elmet, the novel she submitted, four years ago, and it will be published on 10 August. She did not tell anyone about the book, and was not allowed to tell anyone about the nomination till it was formally announced.

Now, the judges of the prize will re-read these 13 novels and shortlist six, which will be announced on 13 September. The winner of the Man Booker will be declared on 17 October. The Man Booker prize is in its 49th year, and its previous winners have been prestigious and well-known authors such as JM Coetzee , William Goulding, and Margaret Atwood to name a few. In the past, two other Indian authors have won this prize apart from Roy — Aravind Adiga and Kiran Desai.

Here's the full longlist:

Paul Auster, 4 3 2 1
Sebastian Barry, Days Without End
Emily Fridlund, History of Wolves
Mohsin Hamid, Exit West
Mike McCormack, Solar Bones
Jon McGregor, Reservoir 13
Fiona Mozley, Elmet
Arundhati Roy, The Ministry of Utmost Happiness
George Saunders, Lincoln in the Bardo
Kamila Shamsie, Home Fire
Ali Smith, Autumn
Zadie Smith, Swing Time
Colson Whitehead, The Underground Railroad

Updated Date: Jul 27, 2017 12:28 PM

Also Watch

Social Media Star: Abhishek Bachchan, Varun Grover reveal how they handle selfies, trolls and broccoli
  • Monday, July 16, 2018 It's a Wrap: Soorma star Diljit Dosanjh and Hockey legend Sandeep Singh in conversation with Parul Sharma
  • Monday, July 16, 2018 Watch: Dalit man in Uttar Pradesh defies decades of prejudice by taking out baraat in Thakur-dominated Nizampur village
  • Monday, July 16, 2018 India's water crisis: After govt apathy, Odisha farmer carves out 3-km canal from hills to tackle scarcity in village
  • Sunday, July 15, 2018 Maurizio Sarri, named as new Chelsea manager, is owner Roman Abramovich's latest gamble in quest for 'perfect football'