Yogi Adityanath resigns from Gorakhpur constituency, likely to enter Uttar Pradesh Assembly as MLC

Lucknow:  Over four months after taking over as the Uttar Pradesh chief minister, Yogi Adityanath on Saturday resigned from his Gorakhpur parliamentary constituency.

He quit the seat he has held for five consecutive terms, after voting in the vice-presidential poll earlier in the day.

File image of Yogi Adityanath. PTI

File image of Yogi Adityanath. PTI

Adityanath is likely to enter the state Assembly as a member of the legislative council.

Three Samajwadi Party and a Bahujan Samaj Party member of the Upper House have already quit and it is expected that he along with his two deputies, Dinesh Sharma and Keshav Prasad Maurya, will fill these vacancies instead of a direct election.

There is, however, no word on when Maurya, who represents the Phoolpur constituency in the Lok Sabha, would quit. Speculation is rife that he may be inducted in the Narendra Modi government.

Updated Date: Aug 13, 2017 12:41 PM

Also Watch

Watch: The true stories from Dharavi that inspired Rajinikanth's Kaala
  • Thursday, March 8, 2018 Watch: Cyrus Khan talks about Parkour, jumping across walls and why he hates sitting
  • Thursday, May 31, 2018 Unwind: India's basketball sensation Amjyot Singh has his eyes set on becoming an NBA regular
  • Monday, May 28, 2018 First Day First Showsha — Review of Solo: A Star Wars Story in 10 questions
  • Saturday, May 19, 2018 Social Media Star: Rajkummar Rao and Bhuvan Bam open up about selfie culture, online trolls

Also See