Two Indian peacekeepers to be posthumously awarded United Nations medal

United Nations: Two Indian peacekeepers will be among 117 military, police and civilian personnel to be honored with a prestigious United Nations medal awarded posthumously for their courage and sacrifice in the line of duty.

Rifleman Brijesh Thapa who served with the United Nations Organisation Stabilisation Mission in the Democratic Republic of the Congo and Private Ravi Kumar who was deployed with the United Nations Interim Force in Lebanon will be honoured with the Dag Hammarskjöld Medal on the International Day of United Nations Peacekeepers to be observed on 24 May.

India is the largest cumulative troop contributor, having provided almost 2,00,000 troops in nearly 50 of the 71 peacekeeping missions mandated over the past six decades, including 13 of the current 16 missions.

So far, about 168 Indian troops have made the supreme sacrifice in the line of duty under the United Nations Flag.

India currently deploys more than 7,600 military and police personnel to United Nations peace operations in Afghanistan, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Haiti, Lebanon, Liberia, the Middle East, South Sudan, Sudan and the Western Sahara.

File photo of the United Nations. Reuters

File photo of the United Nations. Reuters

United Nations Secretary General Antonio Guterres will lay a wreath at the Peacekeepers Memorial at the world body's headquarters to honour all fallen peacekeepers. Later, he will preside over a ceremony during which the Dag Hammarskjöld Medals will be awarded to 117 peacekeepers who lost their lives while serving in peacekeeping operations last year.

Permanent Representatives to the United Nations will collect the medals on behalf of the fallen peacekeepers from their countries.

The International Day of United Nations Peacekeepers was established by the General Assembly in 2002 as a tribute to all men and women serving in peacekeeping operations for their high level of professionalism, dedication and courage and to honour the memory of those who have lost their lives in the cause of peace.

The General Assembly had designated 29 May as the commemoration day because it was on this day in 1948 that the United Nations Truce Supervision Organisation, the world body’s first peacekeeping mission, began operations in Palestine.

Since the first United Nations peacekeeping mission in 1948 until April 2016, 3,400 military, police and civilian personnel have lost their lives in the service of peace as a result of acts of violence, accidents and disease.

Commemorative activities will be held at the world body's headquarters and at peacekeeping operations and offices around the world.

The Dag Hammarskjöld Medal was established in December 2000 and is awarded posthumously to members of peacekeeping operations who lost their lives during service with a peacekeeping operation under the operational control and authority of the United Nations.

The medal is named after the second United Nations Secretary General, who died in a mysterious 1961 plane crash. He was posthumously awarded a Nobel Peace Prize that year.

Updated Date: May 21, 2017 11:02 AM

Also Watch

Watch: Firstpost test rides the new Thunderbird 500X in Goa and walks you through the Royal Enfield Garage Cafe
  • Tuesday, April 17, 2018 Varun Dhawan on Shoojit Sircar's October, 5-star reviews and working with Anushka Sharma in Sui Dhaaga
  • Saturday, April 14, 2018 Ambedkar Jayanti: Re-visiting Babasaheb's ideals exposes fake Dalit politics of Rahul Gandhi and Congress
  • Monday, April 9, 2018 48 hours with Huawei P20 Pro: Triple camera offering is set to redefine smartphone imaging
  • Monday, April 16, 2018 Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore interview: Sports can't be anyone's fiefdom, we need an ecosystem to nurture raw talent

Also See