Sharad Yadav and RCP Singh named JD(U)'s Rajya Sabha candidates

Patna: Bihar's ruling JD(U) today announced its leader Sharad Yadav and party General Secretary RCP Singh as its candidates for the Rajya Sabha polls.

Yadav was formerly the JD (U) president, from whom Nitish Kumar took charge in April, and RCP Singh is considered very close to Kumar.

"Party president and Chief Minister Nitish Kumar today approved the names of senior leader Sharad Yadav and national General Secretary RCP Singh for Rajya Sabha (polls) while Gulam Rasool Baliyavi and C P Sinha would be party's candidate for Legislative Council polls," party leader Bashishtha Narayan Singh told reporters in Patna.

Terms of five JD(U) Rajya Sabha MPs from Bihar —K C Tyagi, Pavan Kumar Varma, Gulam Rasool, Ramchandra Prasad Singh, and Sharad Yadav —end in July.

A file photo of Sharad Yadav. Reuters

A file photo of Sharad Yadav. Reuters

A gazette notification was issued on 24 May to elect five Rajya Sabha MPs from Bihar and seven Legislative Council members.

31 May is the last date for filing nominations for these seats, while scrutiny will take place on 1 June. The last date for withdrawal of candidature is 3 June.

The polling, if necessary, will be held for five Rajya Sabha seats on 11 June from 9am to 4pm and counting of votes will be done at 5 pm the same day. Council polls, if necessary, will be held on June 10.

Based on party's strength in the Bihar Assembly, JD(U) will get two seats each in Rajya Sabha and Council whereas RJD will get two RS seats and BJP one RS and one Council seats.

Firstpost is now on WhatsApp. For the latest analysis, commentary and news updates, sign up for our WhatsApp services. Just go to and hit the Subscribe button.

Updated Date: May 26, 2016 15:56:17 IST

Also See