SCO summit: Narendra Modi leaves for Kyrgyzstan for two-day meet in Bishkek; Imran Khan also expected to attend event

New Delhi: Prime Minister Narendra Modi embarked on a two-day visit to Bishkek in Kyrgyzstan on Thursday for the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO) summit. India will hold bilateral meetings with Russia and China on the sidelines of the SCO summit at Bishkek. The bilaterals will take place when Narendra Modi is in Kyrgyzstan, capital of Bishkek to attend the meeting of Council of Heads of State (CHS) of SCO from 13 to 14 June.

 SCO summit: Narendra Modi leaves for Kyrgyzstan for two-day meet in Bishkek; Imran Khan also expected to attend event

File image of Prime Minister Narendra Modi. ANI

India would also hold a meeting with host nation Kyrgyzstan on 14 June. Pakistan prime minister Imran Khan will also be attending the summit. This will be the first time two leaders will come face to face after months of tensions between the two countries, which began with 14 February, after the Pulwama attack on a CRPF convoy in which at least 40 jawans were killed.

The responsibility for the attack was claimed by Pakistan-based terror outfit Jaish-e-Mohammed (JeM). On 26 February, India launched an air strike on terror camps in Pakistan's Balakot, in response to the barbaric terror attack in Pulwama.

The next day, Pakistan Air Force planes had to attack Indian military installations in Jammu and Kashmir, leading to a dogfight. A MiG 21 aircraft flown by Wing Commander Abhinandan Varthaman had shot down an F16 fighter plane of Pakistan during the aerial confrontation.

However, there would be no talks between Modi and Khan. This comes despite the Pakistan prime minister writing a letter to his Indian counterpart, Modi, saying Islamabad wants dialogue with New Delhi to resolve all outstanding issues between the two countries.

Moreover, India recently announced that Modi will not take the Pakistani air space for flying to the SCO summit in Bishkek in Kyrgyzstan and instead will fly by the circuitous route through Oman and Iran.

In 2017, India and Pakistan became full members of the SCO. Founded in 2001, China, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, Tajikistan, and Ujbekistan are the founding members of the organisation.

Your guide to the latest cricket World Cup stories, analysis, reports, opinions, live updates and scores on Follow us on Twitter and Instagram or like our Facebook page for updates throughout the ongoing event in England and Wales.

Updated Date: Jun 14, 2019 12:58:49 IST