Presidential Elections 2017: After Meira Kumar, Ram Nath Kovind to campaign in Meghalaya on Friday

Shillong: NDA's presidential nominee Ram Nath Kovind will arrive in the Congress-ruled state of Meghalaya on Friday to seek support for his candidature.

His visit to Meghalaya is significant in the wake of his rival candidate Meira Kumar claiming that the United Democratic Party (UDP), a constituent of the BJP-led North East Democratic Alliance, has pledged to support her in the presidential elections.

File image of Ram Nath Kovind meeting BJP President Amit Shah in New Delhi. PTI

File image of Ram Nath Kovind meeting BJP President Amit Shah. PTI

But UDP chief Donkupar Roy, who is also leader of Opposition in the state assembly, denied pledging support to the opposition-backed Congress candidate and said that "it is better to go by the winner".

Kovind, former governor of Bihar who was nominated by the Bharatiya Janata Party as the ruling alliance's presidential nominee, would address Meghalaya legislators at the Orchid Lake Resort in Umiam in Ri-Bhoi district.

The opposition National People's Party, which has two members in the 60-member house, had announced its support to Kovind. The party is an ally of the BJP-led NDA government.

"We will also attend Kovind's meeting tomorrow(Friday). The legislature party of UDP will be meeting soon and decide accordingly," Roy told IANS.

The UDP has eight legislators in the 60-member Meghalaya Assembly.

Hill State People's Democratic Party supremo Ardent Miller Basaiawmoit said that his party would be meeting soon to take a decision. The party has four legislators.

The ruling Meghalaya United Alliance has 44 members, 30 Congress, two Nationalist Congress Party, 11 Independents and one of the North East Socialist Democratic Party. Two other Independents are in the opposition.

However, the Congress may lose the precious vote of one suspended Congress legislator PN Syiem during the presidential poll.

Under the presidential election system, the total value of the votes from the 60 legislators of the Meghalaya Assembly and three members of Parliament (two Lok Sabha members and one Rajya Sabha member) will be 3,144.

While the vote value of 60 legislators is 1,020, that of three parliamentarians, Conrad Sangma (NPP), Vincent Pala and Wansuk Syiem (both from Congress) is 2,124.

The value of the vote of an individual MLA from Meghalaya is 17 each due to the small population size, while that of an MP is 708 each, which is the same all over the country.

Updated Date: Jul 06, 2017 15:57 PM

Also Watch

Watch: The true stories from Dharavi that inspired Rajinikanth's Kaala
  • Thursday, March 8, 2018 Watch: Cyrus Khan talks about Parkour, jumping across walls and why he hates sitting
  • Thursday, May 31, 2018 Unwind: India's basketball sensation Amjyot Singh has his eyes set on becoming an NBA regular
  • Monday, May 28, 2018 First Day First Showsha — Review of Solo: A Star Wars Story in 10 questions
  • Saturday, May 19, 2018 Social Media Star: Rajkummar Rao and Bhuvan Bam open up about selfie culture, online trolls

Also See