Presidential Election 2017: TMC breaks ties with six Tripura MLAs favouring Ram Nath Kovind

Kolkata: The Trinamool Congress on Monday dissociated itself from its six MLAs in Tripura who expressed support for NDA's presidential candidate Ram Nath Kovind, saying it would have no truck with them in future.

"The stand taken by six MLAs from Tripura is in no way the stand of our party. We have extended our support to Congress candidate Meira Kumar. From now on we will have no relation with these MLAs. They don't belong to our party," TMC secretary-general Partha Chatterjee told reporters.

Representational image. AFP

Representational image. AFP

He said the legislators were Congress MLAs. Only last year they joined the TMC and "they have sold themselves before money power".

Trinamool Congress legislators in Tripura on Sunday decided to vote in favour of Kovind instead of Kumar saying that they would not like to vote for someone who is supported by the CPM.

Meanwhile, party vice-president Mukul Roy, who was in charge of party affairs in Tripura, has been replaced by TMC leader Sabyascahi Dutt.

Updated Date: Jul 03, 2017 20:09 PM

Also Watch

It's A Wrap: Omerta star Rajkummar Rao in conversation with Parul Sharma
  • Thursday, April 26, 2018 In the Kanjarbhat community, a campaign against 'virginity tests' is slowly gaining ground
  • Thursday, April 19, 2018 Watch: National-level skater and coach Dhwanit Rele trains and nurtures budding athletes
  • Monday, May 14, 2018 FOMO Episode 1: Google Assistant, This is America, Sonam's wedding & Global Warming
  • Saturday, May 19, 2018 Social Media Star: Rajkummar Rao and Bhuvan Bam open up about selfie culture, online trolls

Also See