President Mukherjee appoints four new judges to Supreme Court

New Delhi: The Supreme Court has got four new judges with President Pranab Mukherjee signing their warrants of appointment on Wednesday night.

Supreme Court. File photo. Reuters

Supreme Court. File photo. Reuters

Sources in the government said on Wednesday that the file pertaining to the elevation of Justice AM Khanwilkar of Madhya Pradesh High Court, Justice DY Chandrachud of Allahabad High Court, Justice Ashok Bhushan of Kerala High Court and senior lawyer and former Additional Solicitor General L Nageshwar Rao to the Supreme Court has been cleared by President Pranab Mukherjee.

They are likely to take oath on Friday, the sources said, adding the notification may be issued on Thursday by the Law Ministry.

Law Minister DV Sadananda Gowda confirmed their appointment in a series of tweets.

The Supreme Court Collegium had recommended their elevation earlier this month, the first since a new law on appointment of judges to higher judiciary was struck down by the top court.

These were the first set of recommendations made by the SC Collegium for appointment as judges of the apex court after the National Judicial Appointments Commission Act came into force on 13 April, 2015. The new law which sought to scrap the collegium system was struck down by a Supreme Court bench on 16 October, 2015.

Updated Date: May 11, 2016 22:50 PM

Also Watch

Watch: The true stories from Dharavi that inspired Rajinikanth's Kaala
  • Thursday, March 8, 2018 Watch: Cyrus Khan talks about Parkour, jumping across walls and why he hates sitting
  • Thursday, May 31, 2018 Unwind: India's basketball sensation Amjyot Singh has his eyes set on becoming an NBA regular
  • Monday, May 28, 2018 First Day First Showsha — Review of Solo: A Star Wars Story in 10 questions
  • Saturday, May 19, 2018 Social Media Star: Rajkummar Rao and Bhuvan Bam open up about selfie culture, online trolls

Also See