By-Poll (00/15) 00 00 00 00
total(00/225) 105 66 34 02

Pakistan to hold election in September for Lahore parliamentary seat vacated by Nawaz Sharif

Islamabad: Pakistan will hold polling on 17 September for the Lahore parliamentary seat in Punjab province vacated by ousted prime minister Nawaz Sharif, election commission announced on Tuesday.

 Pakistan to hold election in September for Lahore parliamentary seat vacated by Nawaz Sharif

File image of Nawaz Sharif. Reuters

Sharif's brother and Punjab province chief minister Shehbaz Sharif has been chosen by the PML-N party to contest from the NA-120 constituency in Lahore, which fell vacant after the prime minister was disqualified on 28 November.

The Supreme Court last week disqualified 67-year-old Sharif for dishonesty and ruled that corruption cases be filed against him and his children over the Panama Papers scandal, forcing him to resign.

According to the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP), candidates may submit their nominations between 10-12 August. Their applications will be scrutinised between 15-17 August.

The election in NA-120 will take place on 17 September, the ECP said.

Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) initially announced that Dr Yasmeen Rashid will contest the election but there are also reports that PTI may field former governor of Punjab and its active member Chaudhry Muhammad Sarwar.

However, Opposition parties have failed to agree on a joint candidate against PML-N's Shahid Khaqan Abbasi for the prime minister's election, with six candidates filing their nomination papers for the polls scheduled to be held today.

If elected, Abbasi will run the government as the interim prime minister until Sharif's brother Shehbaz is elected as the member of parliament to succeed him as his eventual successor.

Find latest and upcoming tech gadgets online on Tech2 Gadgets. Get technology news, gadgets reviews & ratings. Popular gadgets including laptop, tablet and mobile specifications, features, prices, comparison.

Updated Date: Aug 01, 2017 17:24:39 IST