Padma Awards 2018: Govt invites nominations, recommendations on online portal

New Delhi: The process of honouring outstanding personalities from different walks of life with Padma awards for 2018 has begun with the home ministry inviting nominations.

The last date for receipt of nominations for the top civilian honours for 2018 is 15 September 2017, according to a notification issued by the home ministry.

File image of the 2017 Padma award winners. PTI

File image of the 2017 Padma award winners. PTI

The awards seek to recognise works of distinction and exceptional achievements in different fields and disciplines such as art, literature and education, sports, medicine, social work, science and engineering, public affairs, civil service, trade and industry.

The nominations or recommendations for the Padma awards will be received online only on the Padma portal designed by the ministry which is available on the address

With the online portal, the public at large have been enabled to participate in the nomination process, an official statement said on Thursday.

Nominations are invited every year from all state governments, union territories, ministries, departments of the central government and individuals.

Recommendations can be made by state governments, Union Territories, ministries, departments of the government of India, Bharat Ratna and Padma Vibhushan awardees, central and state ministers, chief ministers and governors of State, and Members of Parliament, among others.

The nominations are placed before the Padma awards committee, constituted by the prime minister every year.

Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri awards for the year 2018 will be announced on the eve of Republic Day next year.

Updated Date: Jun 01, 2017 21:17 PM

Also Watch

It's A Wrap: Omerta star Rajkummar Rao in conversation with Parul Sharma
  • Thursday, April 26, 2018 In the Kanjarbhat community, a campaign against 'virginity tests' is slowly gaining ground
  • Thursday, April 19, 2018 Watch: National-level skater and coach Dhwanit Rele trains and nurtures budding athletes
  • Monday, May 14, 2018 FOMO Episode 1: Google Assistant, This is America, Sonam's wedding & Global Warming
  • Saturday, May 19, 2018 Social Media Star: Rajkummar Rao and Bhuvan Bam open up about selfie culture, online trolls

Also See