Nagaland CM Neiphiu Rio allocates portfolios; retains finance, personnel and administrative reforms ministries

Kohima: Nagaland Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio on Monday allocated portfolios to his council of ministers, five days after he took oath, an official statement said.

File image of Neiphiu Rio. Image courtesy: 101Reporters

File image of Neiphiu Rio. Image courtesy: 101Reporters

Rio has kept the Finance, Personnel and Administrative Reforms departments with him, it said. Deputy Chief Minister Y Patton, of the BJP was given charge of Home and National Highways Department while G Kaito Aye of the JD(U) will be the Minister for Agriculture and Cooperation. CM Chang (NDPP) has been given charge of Forest, Environment and Climate Change, and Parliamentary Affairs.

Neiba Kronu of the NDPP will be the new Minister for Planning and Coordination, and Land Revenue while S Pangnyu Phom of the BJP is the new Health and Family Welfare Minister.

The Department of Transport, Communications and Land Resources has been allocated to P Painwang Konyak of the BJP. Jacob Zhimomi of the saffron party will be the new minister for Public Health Engineering (PHE).

Metsubo Jamir (NDPP) has been given charge of the Urban Development and Municipal Affairs Department and Tongpang Ozukum (Independent) was given charge of the Public Works Department (PWD).

BJP's Kashiho Sangtam will be the Minister for Soil and Water Conservation, Women and Child Development. Temjen Imna Along (BJP) will assume charge as Minister for Higher Education and Technical Education.

The Neiphiu Rio government comprises the Nationalist Democratic Progress Party (NDPP), the BJP, the National People's Party (NPP), the Janata Dal United and an Independent MLA.

Firstpost is now on WhatsApp. For the latest analysis, commentary and news updates, sign up for our WhatsApp services. Just go to and hit the Subscribe button.

Updated Date: Mar 12, 2018 22:35:23 IST

Also See