Monsoon Session of Parliament to begin on 18 July: More than six ordinances to be taken up; triple talaq bill tops govt agenda

New Delhi: The Monsoon session of Parliament is set to begin on 18 July and end on 10 August with the triple talaq bill among the legislative items topping the government's agenda.

The session will have nearly 18 sittings, Parliamentary Affairs Minister Ananth Kumar told reporters in Delhi.

The Cabinet Committee of Parliamentary Affairs (CCPA), chaired by Home Minister Rajnath Singh, met here today to recommend the dates. President Ram Nath Kovind will now formally convene the session. "We seek the support and cooperation of opposition parties. There are many important items on the legislative agenda that the government wants to take up in the Monsoon session," Kumar said.

More than six ordinances will be taken up, he said. The triple talaq bill, which has been passed by the Lok Sabha and is pending in the Rajya Sabha, will be among the top priorities of the government, the minister added.

He said the government will push for constitutional status for the National Commission for OBCs. The National Commission for Medical Education Bill and the transgender bill will also be taken up.  With PJ Kurien's term ending at the end of June, the election to choose the deputy chairman for the Rajya Sabha will be taken up in this session, Kumar said.

Updated Date: Jun 25, 2018 14:33:28 IST