Delhi University students union poll: ABVP sweeps election with top three posts

The BJP-affiliated Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) has won the three top posts of the Delhi University Students Union (DUSU). Announced on Saturday, the Congress-backed National Students Union of India (NSUI) got one seat.

ABVP's Amit Tanwar, Priyanka Chabri and Ankit Sangwan were elected DUSU President, vice-president and secretary respectively. Mohit Sangwan of the NSUI won the joint secretary post.

Elections to the Delhi University Students' Union and Central Council were held on Friday, reported NDTV. Over 36 percent of students exercised their franchise in the polls with the voting percentage recording a dip of over 7 percent from last year's overall turnout of 43.3 percent.

The winners distributed sweets among students and their supporters. DNA quoted Karan Kuhar, a student of Daulat Ram college as saying, "plans are afoot to hold a massive victory procession".

"We have won and our vote share has increased because throughout the year, we have stayed amongst students and fought for them. This ABVP win is also a comment against anti-national activities happening across the country," Hindustan Times quoted Tanwar as saying.

ABVP workers celebrated their win soon after the result declaration.

Updated Date: Sep 10, 2016 13:14 PM

Also Watch

It's A Wrap: Omerta star Rajkummar Rao in conversation with Parul Sharma
  • Thursday, April 26, 2018 In the Kanjarbhat community, a campaign against 'virginity tests' is slowly gaining ground
  • Thursday, April 19, 2018 Watch: National-level skater and coach Dhwanit Rele trains and nurtures budding athletes
  • Monday, May 14, 2018 FOMO Episode 1: Google Assistant, This is America, Sonam's wedding & Global Warming
  • Saturday, May 19, 2018 Social Media Star: Rajkummar Rao and Bhuvan Bam open up about selfie culture, online trolls

Also See