Central Railways gives additional halt to 20 trains at Nashik for Kumbh Mela

Mumbai: In view of the ongoing Kumbh Mela being celebrated at Nashik and Trimbakeshwar, the Central Railways has decided to give additional halt to 20 trains at Nashik Road station.

The 20 trains, which usually do not stop at Nashik Road, will halt for 2 minutes at the station, from August 10 to September 30.

Kumbh Mela. AFP

Kumbh Mela. AFP

The CR is also making elaborate arrangements for scores of pilgrims who are expected to visit the Kumbh Mela.

The trains for which the additional halt is given are -- 11059 LTT-Chhapra, 12101 LTT-Howrah, 12153 LTT-Habibganj, 12362 CSTM-Asansol, 12542 LTT- Gorakhpur, 12546 LTT-Raxaul, 12598 CSTM-Gorakhpur, 15548 LTT- Jayanagar, 22511 LTT-Kamakhya, 22865 LTT-Puri, CR said in a statement on Thursday.

11060 Chhapra-LTT, 12102 Howrah-LTT, 12154 Habibganj-LTT, 12361 Asansol-CSTM, 12541 Gorakhpur-LTT, 12545 Raxaul-LTT, 2597 Gorakhpur-CSTM, 15547 Jayanagar-LTT, 22512 Kamakhya-LTT and 22866 Puri-LTT, it added.

CR has also decided to add few additional coaches in nine trains that would be unlocked when train would reach at Nashik Road only.

2167/12168 LTT-Varanasi Express, CSTM-Nagpur Nandigram Express, LTT-Hazur Sahib Nanded Express, LTT-Azamgarh Express, LTT-Gorakhpur Express, LTT- Ajni Express, LTT- Nizamabad Express, LTT-Sultanpur Express would be having one to five additional general second class coaches, it said.

Dadar-Aurangabad Janshatabdi Express would have two additional second chair car coaches during the period of August 1 to September 30, the statement added.

"Railway Minister Suresh Prabhu had reviewed the arrangements and gave appropriate instructions for ensuring best possible facilities to the railway passengers visiting the Kumbh Mela and these are in line with that," Narendra Patil, chief PRO of Central Railway, said.


Updated Date: Jul 23, 2015 20:32 PM

Also See