Co-presented by

BJP announces candidates for Rajya Sabha elections: Arun Jaitley nominated from Uttar Pradesh, Prakash Javadekar from Maharashtra

New Delhi: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), on Wednesday, re-nominated all the eight Union ministers, including Finance Minister Arun Jaitley and Human Resource Development (HRD) Minister Prakash Javadekar, to the Rajya Sabha.

Apart from the ministers, the party also re-nominated its general secretary and key strategist Bhupender Yadav from Rajasthan. While Jaitley has been nominated as a candidate for the Upper House from Uttar Pradesh, Javadekar has been shifted to his home state Maharashtra from Madhya Pradesh. Jaitley is currently a Rajya Sabha member from Gujarat. Petroleum Minister Dharmendra Pradhan has been shifted to Madhya Pradesh from Bihar.

 BJP announces candidates for Rajya Sabha elections: Arun Jaitley nominated from Uttar Pradesh, Prakash Javadekar from Maharashtra

File image of Arun Jaitley. PTI

Apart from these three, six others, including Union Law Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad and Social Justice and Empowerment Minister Thawar Chand Gehlot, will contest the 23 March Rajya Sabha polls from the states which they currently represent in the House.

The party, on Wednesday, announced two lists of nine candidates after the Central Election Committee gave its approval.

Prasad has been re-nominated from Bihar, while Gehlot has been re-nominated from native Madhya Pradesh. Health Minister J P Nadda has been re-nominated from Himachal Pradesh.

Minister of State for Agriculture Parshottam Rupala and Minister of State for Chemicals and Fertilizers Mansukh Bhai Mandaviya have been re-nominated from Gujarat.

All these eight ministers of the Modi Cabinet are retiring from the Rajya Sabha.

Javadekar's name figured in the second list of candidates announced by the party in New Delhi on Wednesday.

Jaitley, who has been representing Gujarat, will re-enter the Upper House from Uttar Pradesh as the party decided to renominate Rupala and Mandaviya from Gujarat. As per the numbers in the Gujarat Assembly, only two members from the BJP can be sent to the Rajya Sabha. So, the party opted to nominate Jaitley from Uttar Pradesh.

The BJP, on its own, can send back only one of the two retiring members—Prasad and Pradhan—from Bihar. It, therefore, opted to renominate Prasad from the state and shifted Pradhan to Madhya Pradesh.

Voting to elect 58 members to the Rajya Sabha from different states will take place on 23 March. The last date for filing nominations is 12 March. 15 March is the last date for withdrawal of candidature.

There are 10 vacancies from Uttar Pradesh, six each from Bihar and Maharashtra, five each from Madhya Pradesh and West Bengal, four each from Gujarat and Karnataka, three each from Odisha, Rajasthan, Andhra Pradesh and Telangana, two from Jharkhand and one each from Haryana, Chhattisgarh, Himachal Pradesh and Uttarakhand.

All the nine candidates are likely to win the elections.

Your guide to the latest seat tally, live updates, analysis and list of winners for Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on Follow us on Twitter and Instagram or like our Instagram or like our Facebook page for updates from all 542 constituencies on counting day of the general elections.

Updated Date: Mar 08, 2018 08:54:26 IST