Sponsored by

Bhushan denies calling PM 'Shikhandi', Hegde differs

After calling Prime Minister Manmohan Singh 'Shikhandi', Prashant Bhushan back tracked on his statement today, even as key member of Team Anna and former Supreme Court judge, Justice Santosh Hegde said he dissociated himself from the comment.

"I did not call PM a 'Shikhandi'....But when PM lets corruption flourish under his leadership, what is the point of personal honesty," Bhushan said.

Meanwhile Justice (retd) Hegde said that he would not like to associate himself with Bhushan's opinions on the Prime Minister.

 Bhushan denies calling PM Shikhandi, Hegde differs

Bhushan has denied calling the Prime Minister a 'Shikhandi'. PTI

"I dissociate myself not from the team but from a particular word used against the Prime Minister. According to me it should not be used against anyone in a polite conversation," Justice (retired) Santosh Hegde  told Times Now.

"He is the Prime Minister of the country and you don't use such language," he added.

Hegde also questioned the 'charge sheet' that Team Anna had sent to the Prime Minister, saying that he had not seen all the charges against the various ministers they had accused of corruption. The anti-corruption activists had demanded a probe against the ministers, including the Prime Minister, over the allegations of corruption. But Hegde said he did not see the document as it could not be opened on his BlackBerry.

When asked if he would dissociate himself from Team Anna over the issue, Hegde said,"If the material that they have is convincing enough to prove guilt then I have no problem in joining them, otherwise no."

He also denied that he was leaving the team saying, "as far as I am concerned I am a part of Team Anna, if they want to get rid of me that is a different issue"



Your guide to the latest election news, analysis, commentary, live updates and schedule for Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on firstpost.com/elections. Follow us on Twitter and Instagram or like our Facebook page for updates from all 543 constituencies for the upcoming general elections.

Updated Date: May 29, 2012 17:46:18 IST

Also See