Co-presented by

All you need to know about the 2001 Parliament attack

On 13  December, 2001, five heavily-armed terrorists, allegedly belonging to terror groupsLashkar-e-Taiba and Jaish-e-Mohammed, stormed the Parliament complex in New Delhi and opened fire indiscriminately. The attack led to the death of 12 people, including one civilian.

Here are some facts about the attack:

*The terrorist entered the Parliament complex around 40 minutes after the Parliament was adjourned.

 All you need to know about the 2001 Parliament attack


* While then Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee and Leader of Opposition Sonia Gandhi had left, many MPs including Home Minister LK Advani and Minister of State for Defence Harin Pathak were still inside. There were about 100 members of parliament in the building at the time. (Read more here)

* The terrorists unexpectedly found themselves against the Vice-President's motorcade and, in a panic, sought to retrace their way; but, in the process, they brushed against a security vehicle and invited the attention and challenge to themselves. (Read more here)

* Five policemen, a Parliament security guard, and a gardener were killed, and 22 others were injured.

* All MPs and ministers escaped unhurt.

* The one-hour long gun battle was broadcast live on news channels

* The attack triggered extensive and effective investigations which revealed possible involvement of four accused namely Afzal Guru, Shaukat Hussain, SAR Geelani and Navjot Sandhu.

* Navjot Sandhu was acquitted of all the charges except the one under Section 123 IPC (Concealing with intent to facilitate design to wage war) for which she was convicted and sentenced to undergo rigorous imprisonment for five years and to pay a fine.

* Death sentences were imposed on the other three accused by the trial court.

* While SAR Geelani was acquitted in the case, Shaukat Hussain's sentence was lessened to life imprisonment by the Delhi High Court.

* Shaukat Hussain was released nine months prior to his official date of release, because of his "good conduct".

*The Supreme Court dismissed Afzal Guru’s plea seeking review of his death sentence, saying “there is no merit” in it on 12 January, 2007.

*On 10 December,  2012, Sushil Kuamr Shinde said that he will look at the file after the winter session of the Parliament is over.

*President Pranab Mukherjee rejected Guru's clemency plea on 3 February. Home Minister Sushilkumar Shinde cleared the file the next day clearing the way for Guru's execution.

Your guide to the latest seat tally, live updates, analysis and list of winners for Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on Follow us on Twitter and Instagram or like our Instagram or like our Facebook page for updates from all 542 constituencies on counting day of the general elections.

Updated Date: Feb 09, 2013 18:51:49 IST