5 things you need to know about K-15, India's underwater ballistic missile

Moving a step closer to completing its nuclear triad, India today successfully test fired its K-15 ballistic missile from an underwater platform in Bay of Bengal. Nuclear triad is the ability to fire nuclear-tipped missiles from land, air and sea.

Representative image. Reuters

Representative image. Reuters

Here are a few things you should know about K-15:

*The medium range ballistic missile has a strike range of around 1500 kilometres.

* It is a submarine-launched ballistic missile capable of being launched from some submarines. Modern variants usually deliver multiple independently targetable re-entry vehicles each of which carries a nuclear warhead and allows a single launched missile to strike several targets.

*K-15 is part of the family of underwater missiles being developed by the Defence Research and Development Organisation for the Indian strategic forces’ underwater platforms.

*This missile will help India to achieve the capability of launching nuclear warheads from underwater facilities.

*US, France, Russia and China are the only other countries that have this type of missile capability.

Updated Date: Jan 28, 2013 14:03 PM

Also See