Sahitya Akademi announces first Youth Awards, 16 authors honoured

New Delhi: Cultural body Sahitya Akademi today announced its first youth awards for young and budding authors in Indian languages, honouring 16 of them in multifarious categories of writings.

Seven books of poetry, four short stories, two plays and one each novel and essay featured among the winners of the Yuva Puraskar in 16 languages.

Screengrab from ibnlive

Uma Shankar Choudhary was awarded the prize for his writings in Hindi while Veeranna Madiwalara was chosen for Kannada. Among the other winners were Nisar Azam in Kashmiri language, Aishwarya Patekar in Marathi and Gayatribala Panda in Odia.

The award will carry a casket containing an engraved copper plate and a cheque of Rs 50,000. The Akademi also announced prizes for translation of books in 22 Indian languages.

The translation of former president A P J Abdul Kalam's Indomitable Spirit in Assamese and Atal Behari Vajpayee's poetry translation in Manipuri were among the books selected for the award.


Firstpost is now on WhatsApp. For the latest analysis, commentary and news updates, sign up for our WhatsApp services. Just go to and hit the Subscribe button.

Updated Date: Feb 13, 2012 21:48:44 IST

Also See