Sponsored by

Indefinite curfew continues for second day in Kishtwar

Jammu, Aug 10 (IANS) An indefinite curfew continued for the second day Saturday in communal tension-ridden Kishtwar town of Jammu region, as the district magistrate and police chief were removed in a nocturnal reshuffle by the Jammu and Kashmir government.

One person was killed and over 24 others injured in communal clashes in Kishtwar town Friday, around 220 km from here, as unruly mobs fired at each other using 12 bore guns. The army was called out to stage a flag march and restore order.

The state government announced ex gratia relief of Rs.5 lakh in favour of the next of kin of the slain person, identified as Arvind Kumar.

More than 80 shops, a petrol pump, an oil tanker, some vehicles of the state police and the fire services department, in addition to government properties, were torched by mobs Friday.

In the late-night reshuffle, Basheer Ahmad Khan has been posted as the district magistrate, and Sanjay Kotwal as the superintendent of police of Kishtwar.

Ashok Prasad, state director general of police (DGP), Suresh Kumar, commissioner (home) and P.L. Gupta, additional DGP (coordination) are camping in Kishtwar to supervise the restoration of law and order.

Meanwhile, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and some other political parties have announced a shutdown in Jammu Saturday in protest against the clashes of Friday.

Hardline Kashmiri separatist leader Syed Ali Geelani has also announced a Valley-wide shutdown to protest the Kishtwar clashes.

State Deputy Chief Minister Tara Chand met prominent citizens in Jammu city Friday, appealing for calm.

The Jammu and Kashmir government has ordered a magisterial probe into the clashes. District Commissioner, Jammu, Shant Manu has been entrusted the probe, to be completed in three weeks.

Your guide to the latest election news, analysis, commentary, live updates and schedule for Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on firstpost.com/elections. Follow us on Twitter and Instagram or like our Facebook page for updates from all 543 constituencies for the upcoming general elections.

Updated Date: Aug 10, 2013 10:15:07 IST

Also See