South Africa vs Pakistan: Dale Steyn, Quinton de Kock rested as Proteas announce 14-man squad for first two ODIs

South Africa have called up pacer Duanne Olivier and opener Aiden Markram in the 14-member squad for the first two ODIs that will take on Pakistan.

FirstCricket Staff, Jan 17, 2019 14:23:31 IST

South Africa have rested fast bowler Dale Steyn and wicket-keeper Quinton de Kock for the first two One-Day Internationals of the five-match series against Pakistan, starting 19 January.

The Proteas have roped in pacer Duanne Olivier, who is riding high on confidence after being named the Player of the Series in South Africa's 3-0 clean sweep over Pakistan in Tests. Opener Aiden Markram too finds a place in the 14-member squad.

South Africa vs Pakistan: Dale Steyn, Quinton de Kock rested as Proteas announce 14-man squad for first two ODIs

Dale Steyn (L) and Quinton de Kock have been rested for first ODIs against Pakistan. AFP

Heinrich Klaasen will take the wicket-keeping duties having previously been selected in the squad as a batsman and back-up to the De Kock.

The rest could not have come at a better time for speedster Steyn, who had left the field during the second day of the third Test, clutching his right shoulder.

With the Proteas are looking to assemble a squad for the World Cup in England, the first two ODIs will provide Markram an opportunity to make an impression after having managed 407 runs in 16 matches at 25.43 in ODI cricket.

While Oiliver would be looking to make an early mark and shine in his debut ODI series.

The first ODI will be played at St George’s Park in Port Elizabeth on Saturday, 19 January followed by the second at Kingsmead in Durban on 22 January.

Squad: Faf du Plessis(c), Hashim Amla, Reeza Hendricks, Imran Tahir, Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller, Dane Paterson, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Rassie van der Dussen, Aiden Markram, Duanne Olivier

The Great Diwali Discount!
Unlock 75% more savings this festive season. Get Moneycontrol Pro for a year for Rs 289 only.
Coupon code: DIWALI. Offer valid till 10th November, 2019 .

Updated Date: Jan 17, 2019 14:23:31 IST

Rank Team Points Rating
1 India 4027 115
2 New Zealand 2829 109
3 South Africa 2917 108
4 England 4366 104
5 Australia 3270 99
6 Sri Lanka 3795 95
Rank Team Points Rating
1 England 6745 125
2 India 7071 122
3 New Zealand 4837 112
4 Australia 5543 111
5 South Africa 5193 110
6 Pakistan 5019 98
Rank Team Points Rating
1 Pakistan 7748 277
2 England 4253 266
3 South Africa 4720 262
4 India 8620 261
5 Australia 5471 261
6 New Zealand 4784 252