Ranji Trophy 2018-19: Mumbai grab 3 points after draw against Baroda; Tripura earn 10-wicket win

  • Press Trust of India
  • December 17th, 2018
  • 21:10:49 IST

Mumbai: Former champions Mumbai claimed three points against Baroda after their four-day Elite Group A Ranji Trophy game ended in a tame draw at the Wankhede Stadium here on Monday.

The only interest left when play commenced was whether Baroda, who conceded a 29-run lead on Sunday, could skittle out the hosts and 41-time champions cheaply in the second innings and give themselves enough time to force an outright victory.

Representational Image. Getty Images

Representational Image. Getty Images

But that was not to be as Mumbai, who resumed at 20 for two, lost the wicket of captain Siddhesh Lad very early before the remaining batsmen ensured that Baroda did not come back into the game.

Although the other first innings centurion other than Lad, Shreyas Iyer (30), too, departed before lunch, the lower middle order held fort and took Mumbai to 307 for seven, an overall lead of 336, before declaring the innings closed.

Play was then called off with Baroda not commencing their second innings.

In the Mumbai second essay, Shubham Ranjane (64 in 105 balls) Eknath Kerkar (56 not out in 115 balls) and Shivam Dube, who struck a brisk 76 in 60 balls studded with 7 sixes and three fours, got the major portion of the runs.

For Baroda, Hardik Pandya did not bowl after his tenth over in which he had taken two wickets, both yesterday, while Rishi Arothe also grabbed two wickets.

Baroda got one point from the drawn encounter.

Meanwhile, at Nashik, Saurashtra defeated hosts Maharashtra by 5 wickets.

For Saurashtra, slow-left arm orthodox bowlers Dharmendrasinh Jadeja grabbed seven wickets in the second innings as he wreaked havoc on the Maharashtra batsmen.

While chasing, Saurashtra lost half their side, but eventually romped home.

At the Karnail Singh stadium in New Delhi, Vidarbha hammered Railways by 118 runs with Aditya Sarvate taking six wickets to bowl out Railways for 124 in their second essay.

While Karnataka took three points as their game ended in a tame draw against Gujarat on the basis of the first innings lead at Surat.

Brief scores: At Mumbai: Mumbai 465 and 307 for 7 decl.

(Vikrant Auti 42, Shubham Ranjane 64, Eknath Kerkar 56, Shivam Dube 76; H Pandya 2 for 21, R Arothe 2 for 51) drew with Baroda 436.

At Nashik: Saurashtra 398 and 120/5 (Harvik Desai 44, Aarpit Vasavada 28, Chirag Khurana 2035) beat Maharashtra 247 and 267 (Rohit Motwani 120 not out, Jay Pande 26, Dharmendrasinh Jadeja 7-55, Hardik Rathod 2-35) by five wickets.

Saurashtra 6 points, Maharashtra 0 points.

At New Delhi (Karnail Singh Stadium): Vidarbha 331 and 147 beat Railways 236 and 124 (Nitin Bhille 19, A A Sarvate 6-43, A K Karnewar 2-20) by 118 runs.

Vidarbha 6 points, Railways 0 points.

At Surat: Gujarat 216 and 345 (M C Juneja 98, R H Bhatt 91, Ronit More 4-61, K Gowtham 4-80) drew with Karnataka 389 and 107/4 (Mayank Agarwal 53, R Samarth 33, Axar Patel 3-45).

Karnataka 3 points, Gujarat 1 point.

Tripura beat Goa by 10 wickets

Tripura hammered Goa by 10 wickets in their Elite Group C Ranji Trophy game on Monday.

Tripura were in command from the first day and it took them less than an over to chase the 8-run target on the final day and add seven points to their kitty.

Tripura, riding on a brilliant century by Pratyush Singh posted 358 in their first essay, and then bowled out the opposition for 192 in their first innings at the MBB Stadium.

Following on Goa batsmen, barring Suyash Prabhudessai (65), faltered against Harmeet Singh (3-46) and M B Mura Singh (3-55).

Goa began from their overnight score of 113/3 but Prabhudessai ran out of partners and could not take the side to challenging total.

The target was easily overhauled by Tripura.

Meanwhile, at the Palam ground in the national capital, Services grabbed 7 points as they overcame Assam by 10 wickets.

For Services, pacer Diwesh Pathania (5-56) picked his second five-wicket haul of the match and ended the game with a 10-wicket haul.

Chasing 72 for an outright win, Services openers Nakul Verma (39 not out) and Navneet Singh (31 not out) took the side home with ease in 18.1 overs.

And at Lucknow, Jharkhand took three points after their match against Uttar Pradesh ended in a draw.

Brief Scores: At Agartala: Tripura 358 and 9/0 beat Goa 192 and 173 (Suyash Prabhudessai 65, Sumiran Amonkar 29, Harmeet Singh 3-46, M B Mura Singh 3-55) by 10 wickets.

Tripura 7 points , Goa 0 points.

At New Delhi (Palam): Assam 211 and 256 (Swarupam Purkayastha 74, Gokul Sharma 56, Diwesh Pathania 5-56) lost to Services 396 and 75/0 (Nakul Verma 39 not out, Navneet Singh 31 not out) by 10 wickets.

Services 7 points, Assam 0 points.

At Lucknow: Jharkhand 354 and 213/5 declared (Kumar Deobrat 78, Ishank Kishan 53, Yash Dayal 3-49) drew with Uttar Pradesh 243 and 174/1 (Priyam Garg 80 not out, Mohammad Saif 64 not out).

Jharkhand 3 points, Uttar Pradesh 1 point.

Updated Date: December 17, 2018 21:10:49 IST

Find latest and upcoming tech gadgets online on Tech2 Gadgets. Get technology news, gadgets reviews & ratings. Popular gadgets including laptop, tablet and mobile specifications, features, prices, comparison.

also read

Reliance Industries to own new cricket team in Emirates Cricket Board's new UAE T20 league
First Cricket News

Reliance Industries to own new cricket team in Emirates Cricket Board's new UAE T20 league

"The move is the first major overseas expansion of Reliance Industries' cricket operations in the global franchise-based leagues," according to a release.

Former pacer Jahid Khan accuses Essex of racism, sponsor pulls out
First Cricket News

Former pacer Jahid Khan accuses Essex of racism, sponsor pulls out

Jahid is the third player from Essex to accuse it of racism that has rocked English cricket in the wake of the Yorkshire-Azeem Rafiq episode.

IPL 2022 Retention: Virat Kohli, MS Dhoni among others retained; Hardik Pandya, Rashid Khan released
First Cricket News

IPL 2022 Retention: Virat Kohli, MS Dhoni among others retained; Hardik Pandya, Rashid Khan released

The major names to be released are out of form all-rounder Hardik Pandya and dashing keeper batter Ishan Kishan