Cricket

Kumar Dharmasena admits 'error' in World Cup 2019 final overthrow controversy, doesn't regret decision

  • Agence France-Presse
  • July 22nd, 2019
  • 10:08:42 IST

Colombo: The umpire who awarded England six runs from a freak overthrow in the last over of the World Cup final has admitted he made an "error" and should have given one run fewer, a report said on Sunday.

A throw to the stumps deflected off the bat of a diving Ben Stokes as he tried to complete a second run and raced to the boundary, with Sri Lankan umpire Kumar Dharmasena awarding six runs to England. Three balls later, the scores at 50 overs were tied as England had reached 241 all-out replying to New Zealand's 241-8.

Kumar Dharmasena during the Cricket World Cup. AFP

Kumar Dharmasena during the Cricket World Cup. AFP

It took the nail-biting final to a Super Over which again was tied but England lifted the trophy by virtue of having scored more boundaries. Critics, including former umpire Simon Taufel, said England should have been awarded five runs, not six, as the batsmen had not crossed for the second run at the moment the ball was thrown.

Former Sri Lankan Test player Dharmasena told the Sunday Times that he did not have the benefit of television replays which could show that the batsmen had not crossed. "I agree that there was an error of judgement when I see it on TV replays now," said Dharmasena, who was umpiring the final with South Africa's Marais Erasmus.

"But we did not have the luxury of TV replays at the ground and I do not regret the decision I made," Dharmasena said he signalled six after consulting the other match officials. "So, I did consult the leg umpire (Erasmus) through the communication system which is heard by all other umpires and the match referee," he told the newspaper.

"While they cannot check TV replays, they all confirmed that the batsmen have completed the second run. This is when I made my decision." Taufel had told Fox Sports Australia that the umpires made a "clear mistake" as the batsmen had not crossed for their second run.

But the Australian also defended the match umpires, who he said, had to make a complicated judgement and said it would be "unfair" to say the decision altered the outcome of the tournament as it was impossible to know what would have happened in the final balls had five runs been awarded.

Updated Date: July 22, 2019 10:08:42 IST

Find latest and upcoming tech gadgets online on Tech2 Gadgets. Get technology news, gadgets reviews & ratings. Popular gadgets including laptop, tablet and mobile specifications, features, prices, comparison.

also read

Decision on fate of ICC Women's ODI World Cup 2021 in two weeks, says New Zealand Cricket
First Cricket News

Decision on fate of ICC Women's ODI World Cup 2021 in two weeks, says New Zealand Cricket

Though New Zealand is among the least affected nations by the pandemic, possible travel restrictions there and around the world at that time make the event a bigger logistical challenge.

Former BCCI umpire Rajiv Risodkar translates MCC's Laws of Cricket into Hindi
First Cricket News

Former BCCI umpire Rajiv Risodkar translates MCC's Laws of Cricket into Hindi

Former BCCI umpire Rajiv Risodkar has translated the Laws of Cricket into Hindi, which have been uploaded on the website of the Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC).

'It'll be exciting to play some cricket again,' says New Zealand spinner Mitchell Santner as he leaves for CPL 2020
First Cricket News

'It'll be exciting to play some cricket again,' says New Zealand spinner Mitchell Santner as he leaves for CPL 2020

Mitchell Santner, who last played in an ODI series against Australia in March before the pandemic brought all sporting activities to a grinding halt, will turn up for Barbados Tridents when the CPL begins on 18 August.