IPL 2019, DC vs SRH match report: Mohammad Nabi, Jonny Bairstow take Sunrisers to top of table with win over Delhi Capitals

Chasing a score of 130, Sunrisers once again got off to a strong start as their openers Jonny Bairstow and David Warner hammered the hosts with regular boundaries inside the first six overs

Asian News International, Apr 05, 2019 00:16:41 IST

New Delhi: Sunrisers Hyderabad defeated Delhi Capitals by five wickets in the 12th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) at the Feroz Shah Kotla stadium in Delhi on Thursday.

As a result of this win, Hyderabad have now won three out of their four matches whereas Delhi have lost three out of their five matches.

Mohammad Nabi of SRH celebrates after takes a wicket of Rishabh Pant of DC during match 16 of the Vivo Indian Premier League Season 12, 2019 between the Delhi Capitals and the Sunrisers Hyderabad held at the Feroz Shah Kotla Ground, Delhi on the 4th April 2019 Photo by: Rahul Gulati /SPORTZPICS for BCCI

Sunrisers Hyderdad's Mohammad Nabi claimed two crucial wickets of Shikhar Dhawan and Rishabh Pant. Sportzpics

Chasing a score of 130, Sunrisers once again got off to a strong start as their openers Jonny Bairstow and David Warner hammered the hosts with regular boundaries inside the first six overs. The team was able to score 62 runs in the powerplay overs.

The duo stitched together a 64-run partnership before Bairstow (48) was dismissed by Rahul Tewatia. The batsman failed to read the ball out the bowler's hands and he was adjudged LBW.

Delhi came back into the match as they dismissed Warner (10) soon after dismissing Bairstow. The left-hander was sent back to the pavilion by Kagiso Rabada.

Vijay Shankar and Manish Pandey then took the honors upon themselves to take SRH over the line and duo added 27 runs to take the team to a comfortable position in the chase. Pandey (10) was dismissed by Ishant Sharma in the 13th over of the innings.

SRH suffered from a minor collapse as they lost both Shankar (16) and Deepak Hooda (10) in a hurry, with SRH still requiring 19 more runs for the win.

Yusuf Pathan and Mohammad Nabi ensured that the team doesn't suffer from any more hiccups and both these batsmen added 20 runs to take the team over the line with nine balls to spare. Pathan and Nabi remained unbeaten on 9 and 17 respectively.

Earlier, SRH bowlers were exceptional in restricting Delhi to just 129 runs for the loss of eight wickets in the allotted 20 overs after opting to bowl first.

Delhi Capitals got off to a bad start as they lost their opener Prithvi Shaw (11), Bhuvneshwar Kumar bowled him through the gate. Shikhar Dhawan (12) was also dismissed cheaply by Nabi. SRH bowlers maintained a tight grip in the first six overs as they were able to bog down the Delhi batsman, restricting them to just 36 runs.

On a slow and turning track, SRH bowlers kept on varying their pace to bring the run-rate down for the Delhi batsmen. Nabi, provided Sunrisers with the key breakthrough as he dismissed Rishabh Pant (5), the batsman was looking to go big, but he ended up giving a simple catch to Hooda at long-off.

Delhi was deprived of any kind of momentum as they kept on losing wickets. Shreyas Iyer who came out to bat at number three kept on losing partners at the other hand which forced him to play the role of an anchor in the innings.

Colin Ingram (5) also failed to leave a mark, as he was dismissed through a stunning catch at point by Pandey.

Iyer (43), was finally dismissed by Rashid Khan, as he was bowled through the gate. Delhi were not able to strike big blows in the death overs but Axar Patel's cameo of 23 runs enabled the team to post 129 runs in the allotted twenty overs.

Sunrisers will face Mumbai Indians next on 6 April whereas Delhi Capitals next take on Royal Challengers Bangalore on 7 April.

Brief Scores: Sunrisers Hyderabad 131/5 (JM Bairstow 48, M Nabi 17*, R Tewatia 1-10) defeat Delhi Capitals 129/8 (SS Iyer 43, AR Patel 23*, Mohammad Nabi 2-21) by five wickets.

For all the latest news, opinions and analysis from IPL 2019, click here

For the full schedule, date, time and venue of all the matches of IPL 12, click here

Updated Date: Apr 05, 2019 08:45:57 IST


Pos. Team P W L D Pts.
9 7 2 0 14
9 6 3 0 12
9 5 4 0 10
9 5 4 0 10
8 4 4 0 8
8 4 4 0 8
8 2 6 0 4
8 1 7 0 2
See Full Table

Top Stories

Rank Team Points Rating
1 India 5007 116
2 New Zealand 3570 108
3 South Africa 4397 105
4 Australia 4566 104
5 England 5490 104
6 Sri Lanka 4737 93
Rank Team Points Rating
1 England 7259 123
2 India 8508 120
3 New Zealand 6071 112
4 South Africa 6181 112
5 Australia 5701 108
6 Pakistan 5147 97
Rank Team Points Rating
1 Pakistan 5280 135
2 India 5726 122
3 England 3036 121
4 Australia 3613 120
5 South Africa 3366 120
6 New Zealand 3367 116