India women to kick off ICC Twenty20 World Cup against champions Australia; men's groups, opening fixtures announced

Hosts Australia will take on Pakistan's men and India's women for the opening fixtures of the Twenty20 World Cups in 2020

Agence France-Presse, Jan 29, 2019 09:34:29 IST

Sydney: Hosts Australia will take on Pakistan's men and India's women for the opening fixtures of the Twenty20 World Cups in 2020, organisers said on Tuesday as the draw for the tournaments was announced.

The T20 World Cups are being held in the same year and in the same country for the first time, with the men's and women's finals to be played at one of the world's biggest stadiums, the Melbourne Cricket Ground.

Ten women's teams will play in 23 matches from 21 February to 8 March, with reigning champions Australia to clash with India in the opening game in Sydney.

Image courtesy: Twitter @ICC

Both men's and women's Twenty20 World Cup to be held in Australia in 2020. Image courtesy: Twitter @ICC

Four-time winners Australia are in Group A with New Zealand, India, Sri Lanka and one qualifier, while West Indies and 2009 champions England join South Africa, Pakistan and a second qualifying team.

The women's final will be played on 8 March to coincide with International Women's Day.

The men's competition, from 18 October to 15 November, will feature several qualifying matches before Australia kicks off the Super 12 group stages on 24 October against currently top-ranked Pakistan at the Sydney Cricket Ground.

Australia, Pakistan, the West Indies, New Zealand and two qualifiers make up one side of the draw, with defending champions the Windies starting their title defence against the Black Caps on 25 October.

India, England, South Africa and Afghanistan along with two qualifiers make up the other side of the draw.

The men's final will be held at the MCG on 15 November.

Women's group stages (21 February - 3 March)

Group A: Australia, New Zealand, India, Sri Lanka, Qualifier 1

Group B: England, West Indies, South Africa, Pakistan, Qualifier 2

Semi-finals: 5 March

Final: 8 March

Men's qualifiers: 18 - 23 October

Group stages (24 October - 8 November)

Group 1: Pakistan, Australia, West Indies, New Zealand, two qualifiers

Group 2: India, England, South Africa, Afghanistan, two qualifiers

Semi-finals: 11 and 12 November

Final: 15 November

Updated Date: Jan 29, 2019 09:34:29 IST

Top Stories

Rank Team Points Rating
1 India 5007 116
2 New Zealand 3570 108
3 South Africa 4397 105
4 Australia 4566 104
5 England 5490 104
6 Sri Lanka 4737 93
Rank Team Points Rating
1 England 7259 123
2 India 8508 120
3 New Zealand 6071 112
4 South Africa 6181 112
5 Australia 4951 103
6 Pakistan 4872 102
Rank Team Points Rating
1 Pakistan 5280 135
2 India 5726 122
3 Australia 3613 120
4 England 2737 119
5 South Africa 2960 118
6 New Zealand 3367 116