Johannesburg: South Africa skipper Dean Elgar and team manager Khomotso Masubelele met match officials during the lunch break on day two of the second Test to discuss a questionable caught behind the dismissal of Rassie van der Dussen.
ESPNcricinfo reported that Elgar and Masubelele wanted to discuss the dismissal with on field umpires Marais Erasmus and Allahudien Palekar, third umpire Adrian Holdstock and match referee Andy Pycroft.
What was discussed between them remains unclear.
“Has that hit the grass? Yes, that’s hit the grass.”
— Nic Savage (@nic_savage1) January 4, 2022
Van der Dussen was adjudged caught behind by the on-field umpire at the stroke of lunch off Shardul Thakur but there were questions on the legality of the catch taken by wicket-keeper Rishabh Pant.
However, there was no conclusive evidence that the ball bounced before going into Pant's gloves.
Law 2.12 requires conclusive evidence for an on-field decision to be overturned.
"An umpire may alter any decision provided that such alteration is made promptly. This apart, an umpire's decision, once made, is final," it states.
Find latest and upcoming tech gadgets online on Tech2 Gadgets. Get technology news, gadgets reviews & ratings. Popular gadgets including laptop, tablet and mobile specifications, features, prices, comparison.
The 48-year-old has been in charge of Australia's all-conquering women's team for the past seven years, winning back-to-back Twenty20 World Cups in 2018 and 2020 and the 50-over equivalent earlier this year.
Umpires from host countries have been used exclusively since 2020 when the pandemic imposed worldwide travel restrictions.