India bounced back in style to win the second Test match at Visakhapatnam and draw level in the 5-match Test series. However, there was a moment of confusion on the fourth day’s play when Tom Hartley survived a DRS call. The confusion took place when Hartley went for a reverse sweep against R Ashwin and missed it. India went up in appeal for a catch and the on-field umpire Chris Gaffaney gave the decision in favour of India. However, Hartley referred this decision to the third umpire and according to replays, the ball missed the bat and gloves and deflected off the forearm. The third umpire then checked for LBW and it was found that the impact on the forearm was ‘umpire’s call’ and as per ball tracking, the stumps too were disturbed. Despite this, Hartey survived and Rohit Sharma walked up to the umpire to seek an explanation. Here’s a breakdown of what actually happened: The ball deflected off Hartley’s forearm, and the catch was completed at leg slip. The decision was initially called ‘Caught Behind,’ when Hartley referred it to the third umpire. The third umpire, after checking for the edge, did not find any contact with the bat or gloves and asked the on-field umpire to reverse his decision. Clarification: The on-field umpire had initially called ‘NOT OUT’ on the LBW decision, and hence, when the ball hit Hartley’s hand and the wicket on ‘UMPIRE’S CALL’ his decision stayed. What do the ICC rules say?
Not wild about re-reviewing, but eventually right call on Hartley.
— Nakul Pande (@NakulMPande) February 5, 2024
• 3rd umpire said ‘out caught’
• For any other mode of dismissal ‘the process…shall be conducted as if…given Not Out.’
Out caught = not out LBW = umpire’s call on LBW is not out.#INDvENG🏏🇮🇳🏴#WTC25 pic.twitter.com/qybVFsF0g0
As per ICC playing conditions, the umpires need to examine all possible modes of dismissals during the use of the Decision Review System (DRS). Once the umpires referred to the ball tracking system, which said that the impact and the ball hitting the wickets would be under umpire’s call. Now, since the initial appeal was around the catch, the on-field umpire’s LBW decision stands at ’not out’ status, resulting in Hartley being declared not out according to the umpire’s call. This did not deter India as they completed a clinical 106 run win and the series now moves to Rajkot for the third Test match.


)

)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
