ICC Cricket World Cup 2019: Sachin Tendulkar or Michael Clarke or British royalty likely to present trophy

Stepping away from convention where ICC chiefs hand the winning captain the World Cup trophy, it could be presented by Sachin Tendulkar or Michael Clarke or British royalty at Lord's.

Press Trust of India, Jul 07, 2019 17:33:05 IST

Manchester: In a departure from convention, the International Cricket Council (ICC) may invite a former legend to give away the World Cup trophy instead of global body's head doing the honours.

ICC Cricket World Cup 2019: Sachin Tendulkar or Michael Clarke or British royalty likely to present trophy

File image of the Cricket World Cup trophy. Reuters

As per the present convention, current chairman Shashank Manohar should present the trophy to the winners at the Lord's on 14 July.

However, it won't be a surprise if Indian batting icon Sachin Tendulkar or last edition's winning captain Michael Clarke is seen presenting the trophy.

There is a possibility that a member of the British Royal family could also present the award.

"We have seen how acrimonious it got when there was a departure from convention and ICC chairman N Srinivasan gave away the winners' trophy in 2015 instead of president Mustafa Kamal of Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB)," a BCCI source privy to developments in the ICC, told PTI on conditions of anonymity.

"There were some discussions whether it could be some legend giving away the trophy because it takes some time for the confirmation to come from Buckingham Palace. But we have heard that the ICC has sent an invite to Buckingham Palace," the source said.

Kamal was reportedly denied the honours after he blamed poor umpiring for Bangladesh's comprehensive loss to India in the quarterfinals. He had resigned as ICC President after the incident.

There are strong suggestions for Tendulkar's name because of his stature in world cricket.

Another aspect which can't be discounted is ICC's association with the UNICEF and Tendulkar is their goodwill ambassador.

There's another school of thought in the ICC that 2015 winning captain could be invited (Clarke in this case) to do the honours.

The ICC, as part of its social initiative, will also invite community cricket captains to present individual medals to the players.

For all the latest news, opinions and analysis from ICC Cricket World Cup 2019, click here

Updated Date: Jul 07, 2019 17:33:05 IST

Rank Team Points Rating
1 India 3631 113
2 New Zealand 2547 111
3 South Africa 2917 108
4 England 3778 105
5 Australia 2640 98
6 Sri Lanka 3462 94
Rank Team Points Rating
1 England 6745 125
2 India 6939 122
3 New Zealand 4837 112
4 Australia 5543 111
5 South Africa 5193 110
6 Pakistan 4756 97
Rank Team Points Rating
1 Pakistan 7365 283
2 England 4253 266
3 South Africa 4196 262
4 India 8099 261
5 Australia 5471 261
6 New Zealand 4056 254