Highlights Zimbabwe vs Sri Lanka ODI at Dhaka, Full Cricket Score: Cremer and Co win by 12 runs

Catch all the live updates and scores of ODI between Sri Lanka and Zimbabwe from the tri-series in Bangladesh

FirstCricket Staff, January 17, 2018

Toggle between tabs for Live scores and ball-by-ball commentary

Preview: Keen to avenge their last year's loss, Sri Lanka will meet Zimbabwe at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Dhaka on Wednesday. The islanders had a horrible 2017 and would be eyeing a winning start to the year. The match will be particularly important to Angelo Mathews, who was recently renamed their skipper. It was the chastening loss to Graeme Cremer's men at home last year that led to Mathews' resignation.

It will also be the first match in-charge for Sri Lanka's Chandika Hathurusingha, and the players would be eager to accord a winning start to their new coach.

Zimbabwe's Solomon Mire bats against Sri Lanka on Wednesday. AFP

Zimbabwe's Solomon Mire bats against Sri Lanka on Wednesday. AFP

Zimbabwe, meanwhile, had a poor start to the series, going down to Bangladesh by eight wickets on Monday, and they need a win on Wednesday to stay in contention for a berth in final.

Having played a game already and a favourable recent historyt against the Sri Lankans, Zimbabwe would start the match on firm footing.

Zimbabwe, who folded for 170 against Bangladesh, would do well not to make wholesale changes straightaway. Batsman Soloman Mire would once again fancy his chances, given that he did well against Sri Lanka when the sides met in August last year.

Brendan Taylor will be key once again along with Sikandar Raza, who tried his best against Bangladesh with both bat and ball.

For Sri Lanka, Kusal Mendis returns to the mix and is expected to return to No 3 position. The return of Dinesh Chandimal will also bolster the middle-order, but the onus will be on Upul Tharanga and Danushka Gunathilakato set the tone upfront.

They have a strong batting line-up, at lreast on paper, with the likes of Mathews, Chandimal, Asela Gunaratne, Niroshan Dickwella and Thisara Perera capable of scoring big and briskly. Vice-captain Suranga Lakmal will lead the bowling attack and Nuwan Pradeep will assist him with the new ball. Spin duties will be shared by Akila Dananjaya and Lakshan Sandakan. Wanidu Hasaranga is the other spinner in the squad.

Updated Date: Jan 17, 2018

Top Stories

Rank Team Points Rating
1 India 4397 116
2 England 5310 108
3 South Africa 3712 106
4 New Zealand 2834 105
5 Australia 3663 102
6 Sri Lanka 3888 93
Rank Team Points Rating
1 England 6918 126
2 India 7000 121
3 New Zealand 4803 112
4 South Africa 4985 111
5 Pakistan 4370 102
6 Australia 3980 100
Rank Team Points Rating
1 Pakistan 4979 138
2 India 5298 126
3 England 2586 118
4 Australia 3266 117
5 South Africa 2502 114
6 New Zealand 2803 112