Highlights, South Africa vs Pakistan, 2nd T20I at Johannesburg, Full Cricket Score: Proteas clinch another close win, seal series

Follow the full scorecard and ball-by-ball commentary of second T20I between South Africa and Pakistan at The Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg on our live blog here.

FirstCricket Staff, Feb 03, 2019 18:00:32 IST

South Africa beat Pakistan by 7 runs


Toggle between the tabs above to switch between quick scorecard, full scorecard and ball-by-ball commentary

Toss News: Pakistan won the toss and sent South Africa in to bat in the second Twenty20 international at the Wanderers Stadium on Sunday.

Pakistan captain Shoaib Malik said the possibility of rain had influenced his decision to field first despite having failed by six runs in a chase in the opening match in Cape Town on Friday.

Malik said left-arm fast bowler Shaheen Shah Afridi would replace Faheem Ashraf in the Pakistan team. "We were lacking the ability to strike early in the first game," he said.

South Africa's Faf du Plessis bats during the first T20 cricket match betwen South Africa and Pakistan at the Newlands Stadium in Cape Town, on February 1, 2019. (Photo by RODGER BOSCH / AFP)

File image of South Africa's captain Faf du Plessis. AFP

South Africa fielded two new caps in opening batsman Janneman Malan, 22, and fast bowler Lutho Sipamla, 20.

They replaced captain Faf du Plessis, who is being rested for the final two matches of the series, and batsman-wicketkeeper Gihahn Cloete.

"It will be nice to put a score on the board and put them under pressure," said stand-in captain David Miller, who said South Africa were keen to clinch the three-match series with a game to spare.

Both captains noted that the pitch helped spin bowlers in a women's international match played earlier on the same surface.


South Africa: David Miller (captain), Reeza Hendricks, Janneman Malan, Rassie van der Dussen, Heinrich Klaasen (wkt), Andile Phehlukwayo, Chris Morris, Lutho Sipamla, Beuran Hendricks, Junior Dala, Tabraiz Shamsi

Pakistan: Shoaib Malik (captain), Fakhar Zaman, Babar Azam, Hussain Talat, Mohammad Rizwan (wkt), Asif Ali, Imad Wasim, Shadab Khan, Hasan Ali, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Usman Shinwari

Umpires: Adrian Holdstock, Allahudien Paleker (both RSA)

TV umpire: Bongani Jele (RSA)

Match referee: Ranjan Madugalle (SRI)

Updated Date: Feb 04, 2019 09:31:28 IST

Top Stories

Rank Team Points Rating
1 India 5007 116
2 New Zealand 3570 108
3 South Africa 4397 105
4 Australia 4566 104
5 England 5490 104
6 Sri Lanka 4737 93
Rank Team Points Rating
1 England 7259 123
2 India 8508 120
3 New Zealand 6071 112
4 South Africa 6181 112
5 Australia 4951 103
6 Pakistan 4872 102
Rank Team Points Rating
1 Pakistan 5280 135
2 India 5726 122
3 England 3036 121
4 Australia 3613 120
5 South Africa 3096 119
6 New Zealand 3367 116