Highlights, ICC Under-19 World Cup 2018, New Zealand vs South Africa Full cricket score: Ravindra's all-round show helps Kiwis top group

Catch the live score and updates of the Group A fixture between New Zealand and South Africa of ICC U-19 World Cup 2018.

FirstCricket Staff, Jan 20, 2018 06:30:49 IST

Toggle between tabs for Live scores and ball-by-ball commentary

Preview: Both New Zealand and South Africa are unbeaten going into their final group match at the Bay Oval, each having secured a place in the quarter-finals. So this is a straight shootout for top spot, which could shape the rest of the tournament. The winner earns the right to play the second-placed team in Group D – one of Pakistan, Afghanistan, Sri Lanka or (as a long-shot) Ireland.

Form guide

Hosts New Zealand completed impressive wins over the West Indies, by eight wickets, and Kenya, by 243 runs. South Africa have been similarly dominant, dispatching Kenya by 169 runs and then reigning champions West Indies by 76 runs. They’ve been both been successful with bat and ball, with New Zealand in particular comfortable racking up quick runs.

Players to watch

File image of New Zealand U19 players. Image Courtesy: ICC

File image of New Zealand U19 players. Image Courtesy: ICC

Finn Allen (NZ)
Auckland batsman Finn Allen has been one of New Zealand’s stars so far, with 205 runs across the two matches. He made 115* off 100 balls against West Indies before smashing 90 from 40 balls against Kenya - the fifth highest strike rate for a 50-plus score in the ICC U19 CWC, and the highest by a New Zealand player.

Hermann Rolfes (SA)
West Indies might have chased down South Africa’s 282 had it not been for the excellent work of stump-to-stump seamer Hermann Rolfes. He took 4/33 from his 10 overs, including both the key wickets as Alick Athanaze and Kirstan Kallicharan built a partnership. New Zealand will need an answer to his skiddy right-arm.


Out of seven completed games New Zealand have won just one and South Africa seven.

World Cup history

They’ve played each other three times since 2010, and South Africa have won every time. And convincingly too: by nine wickets in Lincoln in 2010, by eight wickets in Townsville in 2012 and by 138 at Cox’s Bazar in 2016.


It’ll be a pleasant 24 degrees in Mount Maunganui, but cloudy, humid and a slight chance of rain. Could be a good day for the seamers.


New Zealand: Kaylum Boshier (c), Finn Allen, Jakob Bhula, Max Chu, Katene Clarke, Matthew Fisher, Luke Georgeson, Ben Lockrose, Callum McLachlan, Felix Murray, Sandeep Patel, Dale Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, Connor Sullivan, Todd Watson

South Africa: Raynard van Tonder (c), Matthew Breetzke, Gerald Coetzee, Jade de Klerk, Jean du Plessis, Fraser Jones, Wandile Makwetu, Akhona Mnyaka, Andile Mokgakane, Kgaudisa Molefe, Jason Niemand, Thando Ntini, Jiveshan Pillay, Hermann Rolfes, Kenan Smith

This article first appeared on ICC-Cricket.com, reproduced with permission.

Updated Date: Jan 20, 2018 15:01:20 IST

Top Stories

Rank Team Points Rating
1 India 5007 116
2 New Zealand 3570 108
3 South Africa 4397 105
4 Australia 4566 104
5 England 5490 104
6 Sri Lanka 4737 93
Rank Team Points Rating
1 England 7259 123
2 India 8508 120
3 New Zealand 6071 112
4 South Africa 6181 112
5 Australia 4951 103
6 Pakistan 4872 102
Rank Team Points Rating
1 Pakistan 5280 135
2 India 5726 122
3 Australia 3613 120
4 England 2737 119
5 South Africa 2960 118
6 New Zealand 3367 116