Dilip Vengsarkar says Prithvi Shaw will have to stay focused if he wants to play for India

PTI, October 23, 2017

Mumbai: Former India captain Dilip Vengsarkar on Monday advised young Mumbai batsman Prithvi Shaw to stay focused if he harbours ambition to don the India jersey someday, especially at a time when there is money involved in the game.

File image of Prithvi Shaw. PTI

File image of Prithvi Shaw. PTI

"I have not watched Prithvi much but heard so much of him, that he is a good player. If he works hard and stays focused he will play for India," said Vengsarkar, a former chairman of selectors at the Sports Journalists Association of Mumbai awards ceremony at the Bombay Gymkhana.

The awards were supported by Star Sports.

Shaw, who scored centuries on his Ranji Trophy and Duleep Trophy debuts for Mumbai, received the Junior Cricketer of the Year award.

"(Former Mumbai selector) Milind Rege and (Former Mumbai coach) Chandrakant Pandit asked me who should we take. They said he (Shaw) is too young but he was given opportunity and in the first game he scored a hundred," recalled Vengsarkar.

"Consistency is important and you have to play every match as your first match and don't look at short cuts. You are a young cricketer and there is money in the game so that can be disruptive. So stay focused," was the legendary right- handed batsman's advise to Shaw.

Maharashtra Sports Minister Vinod Tawde, former India player Pravin Amre among others were present at the event.

List of winners of the SJAM Golden Jubilee Annual Awards 2017:

Sportsman of the Year: Vidit Santosh Gujrathi (Chess, Nashik) and Akash Chikte (Goalkeeper, Pune: Indian men's hockey team).

Sportswoman of the Year: Aditi Dhumatkar (Swimming, Mumbai).

Junior Sportsman of the Year: Abhimanyu Puranik (Chess, Pune).

Junior Sportswoman of the Year: Rayna Saldhana (Swimming, Mumbai) and Diya Chitale (Table Tennis, Mumbai).

Sportsman of the Year (Indian Games): Prashant More (Carrom, Mumbai).

Cricketer of the Year: Kedar Jadhav (Pune).

Ranji Trophy Cricketer of the Year: Abhishek Nayar (Mumbai).

Woman Cricketer of the Year: Smriti Mandhana (Sangli).

Junior Cricketer of the Year: Prithvi Shaw (Mumbai).

Best Team of the Year: Mumbai Indians.

Special Team performance of the Year: Mumbai City FC.

Updated Date: Oct 23, 2017

Top Stories

Rank Team Points Rating
1 India 4397 116
2 South Africa 3712 106
3 England 4722 105
4 New Zealand 2354 102
5 Australia 3663 102
6 Sri Lanka 3668 97
Rank Team Points Rating
1 England 6918 126
2 India 7000 121
3 New Zealand 4803 112
4 South Africa 4985 111
5 Pakistan 4370 102
6 Australia 3980 100
Rank Team Points Rating
1 Pakistan 4979 138
2 India 5064 127
3 Australia 2953 118
4 England 2586 118
5 New Zealand 2803 112
6 South Africa 2334 111