BBL to replace coin toss with bat flip in 2018/19 season; captains to call hills or flats rather than heads or tails

A tested and weighted bat will be used during bat flip in BBL to ensure fairness.

Agence France-Presse, Dec 11, 2018 14:13:39 IST

Sydney: Australia's high-octane Big Bash League (BBL) will break with tradition and do away with the coin toss when its new season starts later this month.

Instead captains will flip a bat, calling "hills" or "flats" rather than heads or tails.

Bat flip will replace coin toss in BBL's new season which starts later this month. Twitter @BBL

Bat flip will replace coin toss in BBL's new season which starts later this month. Twitter @BBL

"For me it's a great moment which reflects what BBL is about," Kim McConnie, Cricket Australia's head of the Big Bash League said on the competition's website.

"Some people don't like change but I'd also challenge people to say when was the last time anyone watched the coin toss or really focused on it to a great extent?

"Now we are making it much more relevant to families, we are creating a moment which is much more fitting with kids."

Australia's Twenty20 BBL has steadily gained traction since it was launched eight years ago with the fast-paced, family-friendly competition attracting big crowds and strong television ratings.

It has always tried to innovate and was the tournament that first introduced Zings flashing stumps, which light up when the bails are dislodged.

They are now are used in international matches.

McConnie dismissed concerns over the fairness of the bat-flipping process.

"I've got it from great authority at our (bat-maker) Kookaburra friends that this is a tested and weighted bat to deliver that equity," she said.

The new BBL season starts on 19 December and runs through till 17 February, featuring eight teams. Adelaide Strikers are the defending champions.

Updated Date: Dec 11, 2018 14:13:39 IST

Top Stories

Rank Team Points Rating
1 India 5007 116
2 South Africa 4280 110
3 England 5310 108
4 New Zealand 3213 107
5 Australia 4143 101
6 Sri Lanka 4103 91
Rank Team Points Rating
1 England 6918 126
2 India 7351 121
3 New Zealand 5188 113
4 South Africa 5037 110
5 Pakistan 4531 103
6 Australia 4290 100
Rank Team Points Rating
1 Pakistan 4979 138
2 India 5298 126
3 England 2586 118
4 Australia 3266 117
5 South Africa 2502 114
6 New Zealand 2940 113